Going in Style Reviews

April 11, 2017
All three stars deliver exactly what you expect from them -- nothing more, nothing new -- but their onscreen familiarity is a strange comfort in itself.
April 7, 2017
There are weightier movies with more moral complexity, but this is just a hug from grandpa. And who couldn't use more of those?
April 7, 2017
Inevitably, the new Style is hopeful, encouraging audiences young and old to believe that even in our nursing-home years we can accomplish remarkable feats.
April 7, 2017
Yes, it's good to see these wonderful actors get together in, well, almost anything, but this broken-down jalopy of a movie is not, to put it charitably, an ideal vehicle.
April 7, 2017
Its stars are such pros, they're so enormously charismatic and have such lovely chemistry with each other, it's hard not to be charmed by their mere presence on screen.
April 7, 2017
Update of 1979's three-men-and-a-bank-robbery caper is no bargain, but it does let you hang with the A-list senior cast of Morgan Freeman, 79, Alan Arkin, 83, and Michael Caine, 84.
April 7, 2017
I leave the cinema happier if I've been emotionally satisfied - if something has been risked, even lost, as well as gained. Having no emotional stakes leaves me cold, and leaves three cheeky actors with nothing to play.
April 7, 2017
The movie will probably find a modest audience for a weekend or two, but it could have been so much bigger if it didn't reduce senior citizens to sympathetic data cards. If it truly gave us something to see.
April 6, 2017
It is such an undeniable thrill to see these three legends together, it really doesn't matter that the heist movie, directed by Zach Braff is nothing more than a pleasant stroll.
April 6, 2017
It would be a stretch (although not much of one) to call Going in Style "wholesome" but it's dull and badly in need of an injection of energy.