Going My Way - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Going My Way Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 18, 2015
Although writer/producer/director Leo McCarey bagged three Oscars for this effortless piece of Catholic whimsy, its enduring charm rests with the Oscar-winning performances of Bing Crosby and Barry Fitzgerald.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 18, 2015
It makes you feel happy. And that's not nothing.
February 17, 2015
Paramount may have made a more appealing, more tenderly human and amusing picture than "Going My Way," during its many years of film-making, but if so, I have missed it.
January 13, 2011
Gooey, warm, comfortable.
February 17, 2009
It offers, in the performance of nutcracker-faced, 56-year-old Barry Fitzgerald, the finest, funniest and most touching portrayal of old age that has yet reached the screen.
March 4, 2008
Feel-good religious drama wasn't going my way, but it's hard to resist such good-hearted schmaltz.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 28, 2008
Major thread of gaiety runs through the proceedings, and McCarey has liberally sprinkled sparkling individual episodes along the way for cinch audience reaction.
December 13, 2006
A warm and moving sleeper hit.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2006
Glossy escapist entertainment that's fun to watch but says nothing terribly noteworthy about the human condition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 5, 2006
| Original Score: 5/5
December 12, 2005
A sentimental crowd-pleaser, well-directed by Le McCarey, this tale about a priest (Bing Crosby) assigned to a problematic parish was so popular that Paramount reteamed the same players for The Bells of St. Mary's.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 28, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
May 24, 2003
It is so well directed by McCarey and played with such a sure touch that it just manages to avoid sermonizing or oversentimentality.
May 20, 2003
Rich, warm and human to the core.
January 10, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 30, 2002
The last scene alone justifies the film and Leo McCarey's reputation
| Original Score: 4/5
July 25, 2002
Crosby and Fitzgerald work pure magic together.
| Original Score: 5/5
January 1, 2000
How come filmmakers 50 years ago could do sentiment without going all sappy, and we can't do that now?
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 31, 2010
There's nothing special or memorable about this overlong endeavor, the first of two motion pictures to feature Bing Crosby's insufferably noble Father Chuck O'Malley.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 9, 2006
Go anywhere to avoid it.
Page 1 of 2