Going My Way - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Going My Way Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 31, 2010
There's nothing special or memorable about this overlong endeavor, the first of two motion pictures to feature Bing Crosby's insufferably noble Father Chuck O'Malley.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 9, 2006
Go anywhere to avoid it.
August 30, 2002
Overly corny, this feel-good musical is delightful in its naivety, even for the time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 4, 2003
Best Picture? Wow. They had cynics back then, didn't they?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 15, 2003
Even though I love a good family film now and then, this was too much even for me. It was like having a root canal of cream filling.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 17, 2015
Paramount may have made a more appealing, more tenderly human and amusing picture than "Going My Way," during its many years of film-making, but if so, I have missed it.
February 17, 2009
It offers, in the performance of nutcracker-faced, 56-year-old Barry Fitzgerald, the finest, funniest and most touching portrayal of old age that has yet reached the screen.
February 18, 2015
It makes you feel happy. And that's not nothing.
January 10, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 13, 2011
Gooey, warm, comfortable.
January 28, 2008
Major thread of gaiety runs through the proceedings, and McCarey has liberally sprinkled sparkling individual episodes along the way for cinch audience reaction.
January 1, 2000
How come filmmakers 50 years ago could do sentiment without going all sappy, and we can't do that now?
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
April 5, 2006
| Original Score: 5/5
March 4, 2008
Feel-good religious drama wasn't going my way, but it's hard to resist such good-hearted schmaltz.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 24, 2006
Glossy escapist entertainment that's fun to watch but says nothing terribly noteworthy about the human condition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 25, 2002
Crosby and Fitzgerald work pure magic together.
| Original Score: 5/5
July 30, 2002
The last scene alone justifies the film and Leo McCarey's reputation
| Original Score: 4/5
May 28, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
May 20, 2003
Rich, warm and human to the core.
December 12, 2005
A sentimental crowd-pleaser, well-directed by Le McCarey, this tale about a priest (Bing Crosby) assigned to a problematic parish was so popular that Paramount reteamed the same players for The Bells of St. Mary's.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 2