Golden Chicken - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Golden Chicken Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ September 5, 2015
A record of a period.
½ August 17, 2013
Unique. There are period pieces which follow a certain person, but certainly not someone like her.
November 20, 2012
Gai (Chicken) a nickname for some girls in Thailand and slang for a prostitute in Hong Kong. I can see why Ng won Best Actress, she does a great job. While the story just isn't that compelling, there are some good laughs and appearances by Tsang and Lau.. I'm glad I learned what fishballing is, but it would seem (for this retrospective at least), "you had to be there".
Super Reviewer
½ November 4, 2012
I didn't hate this movie at all, in fact its heart is definitely in the right place as this is a sweet story about an old prostitute and seeing her ups and downs, using historical Hong Kong events as the backdrop. Whether it be the stock market crash, the economy collapsing, etc. But, and this isn't a slight against the movie itself of course, as I am not from Hong Kong, the film will probably be a whole lot better to people who lived through the same events as Sandra Ng's character did. Perhaps it would resonate emotionally with them the way it didn't with me. And, again, this isn't a slight against the film itself. But the film is still pretty sweet and Sandra Ng does a great job at bringing a lot of heart and warmth to the character. It also helps that she is a very funny woman when she needs to be. Sandra simply adds a lot of likability to the character and she makes the film, in spite of its weaknesses, fun to sit through, even if I wouldn't say that it's a good movie. Another problem with the film is that isn't really all that funny, it has its funny scenes and moments but they're never really truly hilarious. The writing isn't great but, again, it is elevated by Sandra Ng's inspired performance. The movie also looks and feels like a low-budget affair but I can't complain about it too much, because I've seen low-budget films that were excellent. The problem doesn't lie in it feeling and looking low-budget, the problem lies in the quality of the dialogue and the lack of comedy. It isn't all bad, Sandra Ng does a great job in this film and it also has its funny and sweet moments. So while it's not perfect, there's still enough here to make this an average film at best.
October 18, 2011
A Very Good Film With A Great Sandra Ng Performance
½ June 12, 2010
we should look at things at a different angle, with hopes
½ March 7, 2010
A very witty combination between fiction & HK history backdrop.
½ January 30, 2010
Funny, highly enjoyable film and Sandra Ng steal every scene. A little knowledge of Hong Kong history would help get a better feel for the film but it's not necessary.
½ October 24, 2009
a surprise!! bring back the childhood memory of the 80s/90s good old days Hong Kong...
½ June 29, 2009
I was expecting more from this one. i love the cover and i liked the idea... It started well but somehow... managed to bore me...

Its just an OK film... nothing more.
June 23, 2009
funny and very entertaining movie
½ May 19, 2009
One of the funniest...well constructed movie i have seen in years.
Sandra has her name on the award, well deserved.
½ May 19, 2009
The comedy is so so but the film has some touching moments as well as nice acting performances. And the love for HK is so strong, it can only get a positive recommandation.
½ May 9, 2009
great movie. very very inspiring. portrays ordinary heroes in daily life
December 14, 2008
A substantial and entertainin movie that belongs in the archives or some national reserve for HK.
December 5, 2008
quite an interesting way to present Hong Kong
There should be more this kind of movie
December 2, 2008
drunken boxing and handjob arithmetic. this film has everything.
½ November 3, 2008
funny and sort like a soft porn movie...........
November 1, 2008
It reflected HK history from a prostitute's point of view.
funny and also touching in some parts, especially the ending.
???? deserved the Best Actress Award!!
August 2, 2008
hilarious~ guys, the director is NOT Peter Chan..
Page 1 of 2