GoldenEye - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

GoldenEye Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 28, 2015
What we're left with is a kind of monotonous ordeal by muzzle blast that eventually numbs us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
There is just too much that is too silly about Goldeneye and too many mistakes in the making. It is not as actively stupid as some Bond films have been, but it is well below average in intelligence for the already not too cerebral series.
Full Review | Original Score: 0 out of -4..+4
October 13, 2008
Richard Kiel, you are missed.
October 28, 2015
Giving 007 a sleek bullet of a BMW instead of his trusty old Aston-Martin isn't exactly going to turn the world of Bond upside down. And, as it turns out, neither does the casting of Brosnan.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 26, 2002
If we apply high standards we expect from classic Bond films, Goldeneye is a failure.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
May 20, 2003
Instead of continuing as a comedy of thrills, Goldeneye rapidly disintegrates into an endless series of gratuitous explosions and suspense-free motor vehicle chases, each one louder and less interesting than its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 28, 2015
Its story [is] an unwieldy patchwork even by this series' standards.
January 1, 2000
Brosnan uses them well, slipping comfortably into the role of Bond. It's just unfortunate that his debut film couldn't have been more interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 13, 2001
Though GoldenEye is an acceptable Bond picture, it's a reasonable facsimile more than any kind of original, and it's hard not to feel a certain weariness while watching it unfold.
April 12, 2002
They have given James a new car here, but it's the same old vanity plate, the one that should read: Je Me Souviens.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 20, 2003
Brosnan, as the best-moussed Bond ever to play baccarat in Monte Carlo, makes the character's latest personality transplant viable (not to mention smashingly photogenic), but the series still suffers the blahs.
October 13, 2008
I don't know whether the Bond series has a future, but if Xenia Onatopp ever returns to try for world domination, he may finally get a battle worth fighting.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 28, 2015
It's not a good sign that what I remember most about the movie is the lovely blue color of 007's new BMW convertible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 28, 2015
Despite a promiscuous number of explosions on screen, don't expect many genuinely big bangs out of this one.
October 28, 2015
It all feels like a tired walk-through. Brosnan tries, but aside from the accent, he's really not suited to the part.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 28, 2015
Entropy, the inexorable running down of an energy system, may have overtaken the Bond saga.
November 2, 2015
It contains four or five humorous, intricately choreographed action sequences that -- while not as riveting as similar episodes in True Lies or Die Hard With a Vengeance -- are enjoyable on that idiot level that even critics possess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 9, 2006
Director Campbell keeps matters bowling along and even manages to recapture something of the look of the earlier films.
October 28, 2015
Walking a fine line between '60s cultural kitsch and '90s entertainment hype, GoldenEye delivers some slick, generation-spanning thrills and proves that while Bond may be something of a political and social dinosaur, there's still life in the old boy yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Watching the film, I got caught up in the special effects and the neat stunts, and I observed with a certain satisfaction Bond's belated entry into a more modern world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 4