Gone Baby Gone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gone Baby Gone Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 5, 2015
An out-and-out triumph for the Brothers Affleck.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 14, 2012
This is A-grade stuff: well-plotted, unpredictable and grounded in reality from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 14, 2011
As an actor, Ben Affleck might be a supporting player trapped in a leading man's body, but as a filmmaker he's an auspicious talent.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 5, 2011
A truly stellar directorial debut by Ben Affleck.
April 4, 2011
Because it mostly succeeds, now that [Affleck's] got this and that good under-seen performance in Hollywoodland under his belt, he can hold his head high again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 22, 2011
A tense meditation on morality in the modern world, Gone Baby Gone is a superb crime thriller featuring a star performance from Casey Affleck. If crime drama is your thing, it really doesn't get much better than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 27, 2009
The Affleck boys finally earn their stripes as cinematic artists
September 18, 2008
Gone Baby Gone is an argument for obligation over accommodation, the absolute over the contingent.
August 18, 2008
Affleck proved that his Good Will Hunting moment wasn't an aberration, and he also showed that he didn't need Matt Damon in tow to make a great movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 23, 2008
Director Ben Affleck displays sensitivity to his story's thematic undercurrents, but he hasn't yet developed the authorial voice needed to enliven the conventional plotting.
July 22, 2008
After seeing Affleck's directorial debut Gone Baby Gone, I can honestly say that he has finally found his true calling in Hollywood.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2008
Great job, everyone! The ride overall is solid and gripping, and very enjoyable despite the glimpses at the horrors of which the human animal is capable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 6, 2008
Back, baby, back. An excellent police procedural and a personal triumph for Ben Affleck, steering his younger brother to a performance that deserved louder applause from gong juries.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 6, 2008
A powerful, provocative and excellently acted thriller that could literally have been torn from today's headlines.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 5, 2008
Flawed but impressive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
June 5, 2008
A superior, haunting thriller of abduction, deception and ethical dilemma with a sobering ending - a moral quandary that demands strong debate outside the cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 1, 2008
An unusually patient approach to storytelling sets Ben Affleck's directorial debut apart, as he allows events to unfurl gradually.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 26, 2008
To this day, six months after seeing the film for the first time, I still do not know the answer to one of the biggest moral dilemmas I have ever seen. Casey Affleck's character has to make a decision at the end of this film that just blew my mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 10, 2008
The first serious foray into directing by Ben Affleck, who reinforces his creative talents by good storytelling and dense mood establishment. Brother Casey Affleck threatens to overshadow his sibling in the acting department.
April 10, 2008
...a far more accomplished and flat-out compelling piece of work than anybody could've expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 9