Gone Baby Gone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gone Baby Gone Reviews

Page 1 of 9
October 19, 2007
There's finally much less than meets the eye in what amounts to a linear tour of Greater Boston's criminal minds.
October 26, 2007
As a director, Ben Affleck reveals a competent craftsmanship but not much flair or inspiration.
October 17, 2007
Strong performances from its ensemble cast can't compensate for undeveloped character-reversals, splashes of exploitation, and a broken storyline that feels like two different narratives stuck together.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 19, 2007
The film doesn't fully click into the register Affleck seems to be going for -- that of a talky, tense, intricately woven urban opera of greed (both emotional and monetary), ambition and ethical relativism.
October 19, 2007
We give up before the detectives do, not just on the story, but on humanity, which I doubt is what anyone involved really wants.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 25, 2007
To its eternal credit, it offers absolutely no closure on the question of the heartbreaking moral dilemma that confronts the hero... but the 'neighborhood color' reaches the point of absurdity...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 13, 2007
Convoluted plotting inhibits clarity, with editing that resembles cut-and-paste jobs.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 18, 2007
...trickier than it appears - and far too tricky for first-time director Ben Affleck.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 17, 2007
So far this year, no other movie has more risible dialogue.
October 19, 2007
Brooding, somber film is ragged around the edges and not without problematic aspects.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 22, 2011
A tense meditation on morality in the modern world, Gone Baby Gone is a superb crime thriller featuring a star performance from Casey Affleck. If crime drama is your thing, it really doesn't get much better than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
July 22, 2008
After seeing Affleck's directorial debut Gone Baby Gone, I can honestly say that he has finally found his true calling in Hollywood.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 1, 2007
I'm torn between thinking there should be more films like this or fewer. I love the moral discussions, the difficult Sophie's Choice decisions. On the other hand, how bleak, how wretched, how depressingly realistic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
Lehane's superb plotting serves the director well, and Affleck's unblinking view of the world he seems to know, with an emphasis on ugliness, self-perpetuating despair and the wrong sorts of people having children, serves Lehane's story.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
... a terrific, gripping and startlingly effective thriller. The power of the drama and the excellence of the realization obliterate all objections.
Full Review | Original Score: 88/100
October 14, 2012
This is A-grade stuff: well-plotted, unpredictable and grounded in reality from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 19, 2007
A superior police procedural, and something more -- a study in devious human nature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 18, 2007
The strength of the film's subject matter and the intelligence and perceptiveness with which it is approached make this not merely an October diversion but a genuine Oscar contender.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 19, 2007
Affleck's directorial debut [is] a deft look at deep themes.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2007
Ben Affleck may not have made the wisest acting choices in recent years ('Gigli, anyone?) but here, in an impressive directorial debut, he proves he definitely has what it takes for a career behind the camera.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 9