Gone With the Wind - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gone With the Wind Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 18, 2017
I still find the movie vile and offensive in every important part. It purports to show us the lamentable fate of "gentility" in the old South which, as a pre-teen, only made me wish General Sherman godspeed on his appointed rounds in Georgia.
January 1, 2000
On the whole, I thought the picture was OK.
June 27, 2015
The film's subtle racism is insidious, going to great lengths to enshrine the myth that the Civil War wasn't fought over slavery - an institution the film unabashedly romanticizes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2003
| Original Score: 0/5
January 1, 2000
It is a bore.
February 25, 2014
It's remarkable that after spending almost eight hours of my existence in front of this film, I can remember only two points vividly.
February 22, 2015
There has never been a picture like David O. Selznick's production of Gone With the Wind.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 27, 2005
This is a film that never fights shy of clichés. Rather, it collects them all up in one glorious heap so you can cherry-pick those that appeal.
January 18, 2013
The cast, in the main scenes as in the episodes, is excellent.
February 22, 2015
I love Scarlett O'Hara. She's so full of life and energy, it's hard not to be swept up in her personality.
November 21, 2013
The performances of eternally glittering movie stars Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable ... exist in a league of their own, demanding rapt attention in scene after scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 24, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
It is still a towering landmark of film, quite simply because it tells a good story, and tells it wonderfully well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Even though the habits of movie- goers have changed over the years, it's easy to see why this film provoked such an outpouring of praise and adulation during its initial release, and why its stature has grown with the passage of decades.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 30, 2002
It could be -- and should be -- viewed from a dozen different perspectives, but it is, above all, a story about adapting to the most challenging circumstances possible.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
December 15, 1939
This movie is pure soap opera. But what a soap opera!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 16, 2002
Mind-boggling for the first time in a theater. Too bad that many, like me, see it first on TV.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 21, 2004
Never, never bores me. Glabe is fabulous!
| Original Score: 5/5
November 21, 2009
Gone with the Wind is still dated, but it's a dynamite kind of antiquity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 7, 2010
The epic film that to this day stands as the benchmark against which all other epics are judged.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 5