The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard Reviews

Page 1 of 6
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 18, 2010
...an agreeable piece of work...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 23, 2009
This film is so crass and so lowbrow its hairline is level with the carpet underlay. And yet, and yet, I must hang my head and confess I did laugh a fair bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2009
The film is randy and rough-hewn even by the standards of its genre. I could claim to have found it tasteless and mirthless, but that would be a lie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2009
Packed with some very average and at times very filthy jokes, The Goods is thankfully redeemed by some decent laugh-out loud moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 28, 2009
The humor comes not from the picture's setup but the absurd behavior of its characters. Mr. Piven does an able variation on Ari Gold, the caustic agent from Entourage
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 20, 2009
It's a grab bag of comic ideas, but some of the gags are impressively perverse.
August 17, 2009
Needs Less Sentiment and More Charles Napier. But Still Rapid-Fire Funny in Nature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 17, 2009
I definitely laughed, just not enough to fully recommend it.
August 16, 2009
I think it's worth it just to witness the comic genius of Kathryn Hahn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 16, 2009
Raunchy, crass and simply loopy, this is a movie you're either going to love or hate.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
August 14, 2009
The Goods is uneven, mis-shapen, lumpy, bumpy and scattershot; it's also funny, or funny in bits, or very funny in very weird bits that almost, kind of, make up for how uneven, mis-shapen, lumpy, bumpy and scattershot it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 14, 2009
'The Goods' isn't going to revolutionize comedy, but it does exactly what a good comedy should: it focuses on laughs above all else.
August 14, 2009
I laughed more than I thought I would (though of course hope springs eternal at the movies) and if I ran the Hollywood zoo, I'd give these particular screenwriters another assignment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 14, 2009
The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard has a beater's clunky, fast-moving charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 14, 2009
The gold standard of used-car comedies is still, well, Used Cars. But I laughed out loud about a dozen times watching The Goods, and not even in spite of myself.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 14, 2009
The Goods gets saved from the scrap heap by the winning comic players behind star Jeremy Piven.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 14, 2009
Start laughing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 14, 2009
Like Don's sales technique, the movie ... pushes its humor aggressively but closes the deal.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 14, 2009
Piven's aggressive energy doesn't wear well over the course of the movie, but the supporting cast is stocked with choice comedy talent.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 6