Goon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Goon Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
I laughed so hard I almost injured myself. My distinguished colleague fell out of his chair.
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
June 2, 2013
Crosses the blue line so often you're compelled to pin it against the boards and administer a quick knee to the groin.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jay Stone
National Post
January 8, 2013
The result is a 92-minute misconduct penalty.
Top Critic
Bilge Ebiri
New York Magazine/Vulture
January 8, 2013
As the brutality ramps up, and the story gains real consequence, for some reason, we actually laugh harder. Goon is a comedy, often a very funny one, but you might be hesitant to call it that once you've actually seen it.
A.A. Dowd
Time Out Chicago
January 8, 2013
A disarmingly sweet descendant of the blood-on-the-ice classic Slap Shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Perry Seibert
TV Guide
January 8, 2013
It's the kind of small-budget comedy that earns your goodwill early and easily, even if it isn't breaking new ground or transcending its readily apparent monetary constraints.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Charles Ealy
Austin American-Statesman
January 8, 2013
Scott, never known for being choosy about his roles, actually has ended up in a sweet little movie.
| Original Score: 3/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 4, 2012
This so-called hockey thug is actually a nice guy and I found myself rooting for him to knock those other players out. This film is based on a true story.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 20, 2012
An appealing low-brow farce going at full speed to capture in its cartoonish presentation the cliches, macho dynamics, violence and fights of minor league hockey players.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jeff Beck
September 16, 2012
What we end up with is a film that just isn't interesting, entertaining, or funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
Goon will definitely provide an entertaining diversion from the February blahs and may even leave you cheering for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Simon Miraudo
August 5, 2012
The bloodier the film gets, the sweeter Scott's lion-hearted enforcer seems, cheerfully taking pucks and sticks and skates to the face with a smile, all in the service of his beloved team.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
June 20, 2012
Liberally peppered with profanities and comedic hockey-related violence, Goon finds plenty to laugh at in the coarse words and antics of athletes.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
R. L. Shaffer
June 6, 2012
Goon is a remarkably sweet, shockingly violent and incredibly enjoyable movie that ranks up there as one of the best hockey films ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
June 6, 2012
a film about honor, love and loyalty that transcends its subject matter and can connect to a larger audience if they give it a chance
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
April 29, 2012
This proves we don't need a remake of 'Slap Shot.' Funny and violent, 'Goon' is a very good sports movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
April 27, 2012
Exuberantly off-color, bloody, and frequently laugh-'til-you-choke hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Shawn Levy
April 26, 2012
Profane, bloody, and sophomoric, it's a comic adrenaline rush with a surprisingly sweet heart.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
April 20, 2012
[Scott] is reason enough to see the film, which otherwise is a by-the-book sports comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
April 15, 2012
Main character as endearing as he is brutal
Page 1 of 6