Goon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Goon Reviews

Page 1 of 6
May 3, 2015
I laughed so hard I almost injured myself. My distinguished colleague fell out of his chair.
June 2, 2013
Crosses the blue line so often you're compelled to pin it against the boards and administer a quick knee to the groin.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 8, 2013
The result is a 92-minute misconduct penalty.
January 8, 2013
As the brutality ramps up, and the story gains real consequence, for some reason, we actually laugh harder. Goon is a comedy, often a very funny one, but you might be hesitant to call it that once you've actually seen it.
January 8, 2013
A disarmingly sweet descendant of the blood-on-the-ice classic Slap Shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 8, 2013
It's the kind of small-budget comedy that earns your goodwill early and easily, even if it isn't breaking new ground or transcending its readily apparent monetary constraints.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 8, 2013
Scott, never known for being choosy about his roles, actually has ended up in a sweet little movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 4, 2012
This so-called hockey thug is actually a nice guy and I found myself rooting for him to knock those other players out. This film is based on a true story.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 20, 2012
An appealing low-brow farce going at full speed to capture in its cartoonish presentation the cliches, macho dynamics, violence and fights of minor league hockey players.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 16, 2012
What we end up with is a film that just isn't interesting, entertaining, or funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2012
Goon will definitely provide an entertaining diversion from the February blahs and may even leave you cheering for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
August 5, 2012
The bloodier the film gets, the sweeter Scott's lion-hearted enforcer seems, cheerfully taking pucks and sticks and skates to the face with a smile, all in the service of his beloved team.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 20, 2012
Liberally peppered with profanities and comedic hockey-related violence, Goon finds plenty to laugh at in the coarse words and antics of athletes.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 6, 2012
Goon is a remarkably sweet, shockingly violent and incredibly enjoyable movie that ranks up there as one of the best hockey films ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 6, 2012
a film about honor, love and loyalty that transcends its subject matter and can connect to a larger audience if they give it a chance
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 29, 2012
This proves we don't need a remake of 'Slap Shot.' Funny and violent, 'Goon' is a very good sports movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
April 27, 2012
Exuberantly off-color, bloody, and frequently laugh-'til-you-choke hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 26, 2012
Profane, bloody, and sophomoric, it's a comic adrenaline rush with a surprisingly sweet heart.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 20, 2012
[Scott] is reason enough to see the film, which otherwise is a by-the-book sports comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 15, 2012
Main character as endearing as he is brutal
Page 1 of 6