Gothika - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gothika Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
May 26, 2004
Halle is always great to watch and this is a well-written horror story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
James Christopher
Times (UK)
April 15, 2004
The jumpy twists are terrifying enough; the loony asylum is a Gothic masterpiece; but the continuity is sloppy
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
January 1, 2004
Gothika is a stylish, creepy, and well-acted psychological thriller/ghost story. It also has plot holes big enough to drive a truck through...
Full Review| Original Score: 3/5
Greg Muskewitz
eFilmCritic.com
December 22, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Tony Toscano
Talking Pictures (U.S.)
December 1, 2003
...Gothika" is scary as hell.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Luke Y. Thompson
New Times
November 28, 2003
It took four years, but finally Dark Castle has made something that's genuinely scary.
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
November 28, 2003
The sincerity Halle Berry brings to the part aids the movie in gliding over some of the more hard-to-swallow moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 26, 2003
I can't in all good conscience call it a good movie, but neither can I say I didn't enjoy the amalgamation of inaninity that comprises it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Shirley Klass
Fantastica Daily
November 24, 2003
The ending has a suitable pay off, but overall the movie is derivative of other horror movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jimmy O
Film Snobs
November 22, 2003
Something's gotta be wrong when Robert Downey Jr. is the voice of reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
November 22, 2003
Gothika is a classy, dread-filled production populated with an above-average cast and plenty of namesake atmospherics...One of the stronger horror entries of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Doris Toumarkine
Film Journal International
November 22, 2003
Oscar winner Halle Berry and Robert Downey, Jr. help nudge this otherwise routine B-pic about mayhem and murder at the asylum up to B+.
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
November 21, 2003
Gothika doesn't have much substance, like the ghosts it celebrates, but it does have style.
| Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
November 21, 2003
It's sure, scary stuff, and fans of heart palpitations will likely find themselves pleased.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 21, 2003
In trash as in art there is no accounting for taste, and reader, I cherished this movie in all of its lurid glory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Staci Layne Wilson
Horror.com
November 21, 2003
Whether you're willing to pay full price to see style over substance is up to you, but if you go in knowing you're not seeing the next classic, you might have a little fun.
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
November 20, 2003
... an effectively engineered thriller (if you) accept the B-movie psycho-babble and an ending that begs blind indulgence.
Full Review | Original Score: B
James Rocchi
Netflix
November 20, 2003
Halle Berry's shrink-to-inmate story has a few problems ... and some nice, solid, cheesy-cheap jolts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Fred Topel
About.com
November 20, 2003
The real test of a horror movie is...how often a girl buries her face in your chest.There were moments where she'd dive into my arms and I'd have to say,'It was just a bird.'
Josh Larsen
Sun Publications (Chicago, IL)
November 20, 2003
Trust me, if you're looking for frights, `Gothika' delivers -- and I'm not possessed or deluded.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 9