Gothika - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gothika Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
November 21, 2003
A B-level thriller with giant plot holes and lazy direction that pretends it's a real movie by casting A-list stars and getting a foreign art-house director to helm it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
November 26, 2003
A mystery wrapped in an enigma -- an enigma that isn't nearly as clever as the screenwriter seems to think it is.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
November 20, 2003
There's nothing worse than watching an involving motion picture collapse into rubble before your eyes, and that's exactly what happens here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
November 22, 2003
Begins as a promisingly creepy thriller but then falls apart.
| Original Score: C-
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 24, 2010
Grisly, disturbing, extremely violent horror film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
November 20, 2003
I'm an Oscar-winning actress. I believe I'll get better roles than this someday. I don't believe I'll stick with my agent.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
November 21, 2003
Penelope Cruz whispers her explicit confessions with the droning delivery of a phone-sex worker on her third hour of overtime.
| Original Score: D
Michael Szymanski
Zap2it.com
November 25, 2003
Folks may say you'd have to be possessed to go see this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Scott Weinberg
Monsters At Play
November 28, 2004
An ceaseless stream of Fake Scares, Dream Sequences, and Shrieking Halles.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
November 17, 2003
... Just too outrageous for me to recommend.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
November 20, 2003
You are more likely to be amused than scared by these sorts of foolishness.
| Original Score: 1/4
Todd Gilchrist
FilmStew.com
November 20, 2003
Although it tries valiantly, Hollywood's latest horror film is nowhere near as scary as the pitch meeting that is likely responsible for its existence.
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com
November 20, 2003
not terribly original
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Anton Bitel
Movie Gazette
April 9, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
May 3, 2005
Succeeds in making every plot twist more unbelievable and irrational than the last.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
April 2, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
November 29, 2003
In the end, the more lurid the explanations are, the more ludicrous they are, too. It's silly stuff, but I suppose it's fine as far as it goes.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jeff Otto
IGN Movies
April 7, 2004
I would like to call out a moratorium on the use of young, wet girls looking through the tops of their eyes with hair in their face, as ghouls. What is up with this trend?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
Los Angeles Times
November 20, 2003
How anyone in the cast manages to keep a straight face is one of the film's innumerable mysteries.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Brian Orndorf
FilmJerk.com
March 16, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
David Rooney
Variety
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

AV Club
November 13, 2003
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
November 21, 2003

Boston Phoenix
December 2, 2003

ComingSoon.net
February 7, 2004

Hindustan Times
April 2, 2004
Page 1 of 9