Gothika - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gothika Reviews

Page 1 of 9
November 21, 2003
A B-level thriller with giant plot holes and lazy direction that pretends it's a real movie by casting A-list stars and getting a foreign art-house director to helm it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 26, 2003
A mystery wrapped in an enigma -- an enigma that isn't nearly as clever as the screenwriter seems to think it is.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 20, 2003
There's nothing worse than watching an involving motion picture collapse into rubble before your eyes, and that's exactly what happens here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 22, 2003
Begins as a promisingly creepy thriller but then falls apart.
Read More | Original Score: C-
December 24, 2010
Grisly, disturbing, extremely violent horror film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 20, 2003
I'm an Oscar-winning actress. I believe I'll get better roles than this someday. I don't believe I'll stick with my agent.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 21, 2003
Penelope Cruz whispers her explicit confessions with the droning delivery of a phone-sex worker on her third hour of overtime.
Read More | Original Score: D
November 25, 2003
Folks may say you'd have to be possessed to go see this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 28, 2004
An ceaseless stream of Fake Scares, Dream Sequences, and Shrieking Halles.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 17, 2003
... Just too outrageous for me to recommend.
November 20, 2003
You are more likely to be amused than scared by these sorts of foolishness.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
November 20, 2003
Although it tries valiantly, Hollywood's latest horror film is nowhere near as scary as the pitch meeting that is likely responsible for its existence.
November 20, 2003
not terribly original
| Original Score: 2.5/5
April 9, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
May 3, 2005
Succeeds in making every plot twist more unbelievable and irrational than the last.
Full Review | Original Score: D
April 2, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 29, 2003
In the end, the more lurid the explanations are, the more ludicrous they are, too. It's silly stuff, but I suppose it's fine as far as it goes.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 7, 2004
I would like to call out a moratorium on the use of young, wet girls looking through the tops of their eyes with hair in their face, as ghouls. What is up with this trend?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 20, 2003
How anyone in the cast manages to keep a straight face is one of the film's innumerable mysteries.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 16, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: D
Page 1 of 9