Grande École - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grande École Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ October 8, 2015
"We are always playing someone's game."
Quite the seductive film.
March 14, 2012
It is a beautifully acted film, and the lead character's confusion and heart being torn in all directions is so true to life. It's also a very educated film with all the subject matter that is touched on. Oh, and maybe the best shower scenes of any movie!! Yummy!
½ July 15, 2011
nedza, bieda, nedza.
May 16, 2011
Interesting story about young elite making sentimental experiments and hurting weaker ones in the process. Sounded like a play brought to the screen with too many big sentences. As usual, Salim Kechiouche was a breath of fresh air though his acting was not perfect back then.
January 13, 2011
I like French movies usually, this was OK not great. They speak extremely quickly in French so it doesn't have that sexy French accent lol
Salim is hot - the movie is about everyone seems to be in love with someone but most of them want to be in love with someone else within this group...
The ending is a bit odd, I doubt if I will watch it again except for certain raunchy bits haha :)
½ December 30, 2010
2.5/5 Not waisting of time but could be better.
½ December 27, 2010
Overly ambitious, this ineptly attempts to tackle too many big ideas inbetween its waves of full frontal nudity.
½ December 18, 2010
Well made and more professional than one would imagine.
SarahTheMovieLover
Super Reviewer
½ September 26, 2010
I really was let down by this film. Usually after watching a movie I will want to explain it to a friend of mine, but this one...I honestly dont think I could explain. There are several themes that are touched on but then never fully explored or concluded. Some of the characters were entirely pointless. And dont even get me started on the ending. Sure, I could see why some people would say this movie is "realistic", but when I watch a movie I want one that actually leads to some sort of conclusion and where at least most of the questions formed are answered. This movie just left me somewhat bored and craving more answers which I never got. Disappointing.

What did this movie teach me? Some girls are actually delusional.
June 15, 2010
Fine Foucaultian fare.
April 25, 2010
(France) a Robert Salis film
February 4, 2010
naked gay frenchmen making love, naked gay frenchmen in an orgy, naked gay frenchmen cooking eggs..lol..nudity everywhere..sooo erotic..and ofcourse boring.
December 23, 2009
Heart-breaking, moving, intense, insanely sexy, wow. Felt like a movie made for me. I identified with Paul a lot, and it's impossible not to fall hard for the earnest Mécir.
December 23, 2009
Heart-breaking, moving, intense, insanely sexy, wow. Felt like a movie made for me. I identified with Paul a lot, and it's impossible not to fall hard for the earnest Mécir.
October 23, 2009
Grande �cole (Great School/Grand School/Upper Class Private School) This European film is not for everyone, it deals with sexual experimentation, and relations. Paul is an upper-class young adult who is about to start out at a private school. He has chosen to live with two new roommates instead of living with his girlfriend, Agnès. As a result of this he gets little time to see her. Agnès starts to find the cracks in their relationship when she suspects Paul's attraction to a new roommate Louis-Arnault which leaves Paul in denial of any homosexual attraction. She decides to make a bet with him, who ever gets Louis-Arnault first wins. If she gets him, he will stop exploring his sexuality, if he does, she will leave him. In between this bet, Paul meets Mecir, a young Arabic worker who is keen on him. With Mecir, Paul goes on a journey of discovery that teaches him more to life than barriers of class, cultural differences and sexuality. "Grand Ccole" aspires to be the sort of existential drama that the French New Wave directors produced in the 1950s and 1960. It pours race, class, economic status, history and sexuality into a big martini shaker and pours out a heady concoction. But just what the film is, in the end, is not clear at all. It's slickly produced, and director Salis captures the physicality of the characters extremely well in the sex scenes and especially in the swim team's locker room. The cast is uneven, but they do nicely convey suppressed longings, deep suspicions and secret glances. And these things hold our attention even when the film wallows in its stew. When it starts boiling over, the dialog takes a distasteful turn, becoming preachy (Mecir actually insists that he went to a posh school too: the school of life!) and dipping into some awkward dream sequences. It's still watchable, but only because we can glimpse real friendship, desire and loyalty deep inside. Better than most gay movies but still pretty typical. This one is satisfying.. three stars maybe four
October 23, 2009
Grande École (Great School/Grand School/Upper Class Private School) Paul is an upper-class young adult who is about to start out at a private school. He has chosen to live with two new roommates instead of living with his girlfriend, Agnès. As a result of this he gets little time to see her. Agnès starts to find the cracks in their relationship when she suspects Paul's attraction to a new roommate Louis-Arnault which leaves Paul in denial of any homosexual attraction. She decides to make a bet with him, who ever gets Louis-Arnault first wins. If she gets him, he will stop exploring his sexuality, if he does, she will leave him. In between this bet, Paul meets Mecir, a young Arabic worker who is keen on him. With Mecir, Paul goes on a journey of discovery that teaches him more to life than barriers of class, cultural differences and sexuality. "Grand Ccole" aspires to be the sort of existential drama that the French New Wave directors produced in the 1950s and 1960. It pours race, class, intellect, economic status, history and sexuality into a big martini shaker and pours out a heady concoction. But just what the film is, in the end, is not clear at all. It's slickly produced, and director Salis captures the physicality of the characters extremely well in the sex scenes and especially in the swim team's locker room. The cast is uneven, but they do nicely convey suppressed longings, deep suspicions and secret glances. And these things hold our attention even when the film wallows in its stew. When it starts boiling over, the dialog takes a distasteful turn, becoming preachy (Mecir actually insists that he went to a posh school too: the school of life!) and dipping into some awkward dream sequences. It's still watchable, but only because we can glimpse real friendship, desire and loyalty deep inside. Better than most gay movies but still pretty typical. This one is satisfying.. three stars maybe four
September 19, 2009
It looks good on paper, but in execution, this film ended with me asking why I should care about so many of the banal conversations that made up the plot. Interesting (and timely) issues to those familiar to the French social/education system, but not much else. 2 stars because I couldn't sit through the whole thing.
½ August 27, 2009
other than having to read subtitles it was a good movie. the story developed at a good pace and the characters were interesting. very European with all of the nudity, but it was used to make a point in the scene and not just there as eye candy
August 25, 2009
Ooh my goodness pornnnnnnnnn! Or heavy romance.. Ah! I don't get this movie lol...
½ June 11, 2009
French language with subtitles, so it's difficult to follow. the acting seems pretty good. three roommates and two girlfriends equal disaster when one of the girlfriends challenges her man to see who can get the roommate laid first. Meanwhile, he falls for an Arab boy who is a grounds worker at the school. Yes, it's a convoluted plot to say the least. But there's lots of eye candy for the hetero woman and gay man: more than one scene of full male nudity (only one of female full nudity, thankfully!), including locker room shower scenes and a love scene with the gorgeous young Arab!! that in itself makes this picture worth watching. At least it does for me!
Page 1 of 4