Gray Matters - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gray Matters Reviews

Page 1 of 47
September 12, 2016
Except the part that Molly Shannon is in this movie - an actress who seriously can't act - I enjoyed this movie a lot more than I'd expected. It was entertaining and funny, the actors did a good job and it kept me hooked from the beginning until the credits started rolling.
The soundtrack was great, the storyline was unique and the characters were well created!
It's definitely worth a watch and it'll hopefully put a smile on your face!
½ December 23, 2015
Neither good nor bad. Just kinda meh.
½ December 19, 2014
Can we agree that we've never seen Molly Shannon, to any degree, in a
good movie? If so, then we're on the same page, and I'll go one step
further to say that this is another point on your Molly Shannon
Antemasque bingo card.

Granted, I didn't expect to tune into The House of Sand and Fog, or a
Kenneth Brannagh Bard adaptation, but I did expect to at least laugh
and smile a bit over a lighthearted romp. It was too lame for
intellectually passive leisure, and still took itself too seriously to
be funny for its failures (i.e. the Room, Ed Wood flicks). All in all,
it's only watchable because of its good production value, cute faces
and the lesbian twist that leads you tepidly to wonder what's afoot.

Now, if you watch the first 15 minutes and think that the acting is
exaggerated (not laugh-out-loud comedic, but simply over the top like a
bad high school play), the dialogue is poorly written, and the
character interactions/personalities are a little contrived (wondering
aloud, "Who actually says stuff like that? Who responds that way?"),
then rest assured: it won't get better. And that vague niggling
curiosity about what's going to come of all this build-up is simply
"almost nothing".

This is where I, like Jack on the wreckage of the Titanic, try to save
you as I slip into the frigid primordial depths of despair. You don't
have to live like I did. You can stop this movie before it even starts,
and you don't REALLY need to know the ending, because I promise you,
your life is worth more than that.

But as for me, that was not to be my fate. Unfortunately, I saw some
positive reviews online that persuaded me to watch this heap of
cinematic refuse all the way through, made desperate by FOMO. Now I
suspect that everyone was as pissed off as I was about the lost hour of
their lives and joined in on a conspiracy to pay forward the pain as a
practical joke, the film equivalent of Rickrolling someone.

Consequentially, I witnessed the happy-go-lucky 90's grocery store
soundtrack and analogous plot ambling along, painfully forced like
high-fat discount ground beef squeezed out of the plastic wrapper.
Limited nutritional content, and so full of hot air that it contributes
to greenhouse gas emissions in a significant way. I began to think the
writer had no idea where she was going with the story line but damned
if she wasn't going to make a movie! How did she persuade someone to
produce it? How did this get a box-office release? Maybe because of
eye-candy Heather Graham, SNL subnova Molly Shannon and "original
Carrie" Sissy Spacek signed on?

Heather Graham never really acts 'sad' or 'upset' in a human manner -
instead, she jumps up and down, sputters dramatically, paces
frantically, and says, "I'm upset! I'm really upset!" or "I'm so sad!
I'm really sad!" - this is not the way normal humans act, except for
the members of the anime club who perceive all life through a cartoon

But you white-knuckle your arm rests, not because of the story arc, but
because of the fear of that to which you've committed your time. You
linger in grim anticipation that something might finally happen of some
interest or revelation... **********(SPOILER ALERT? but you knew it was
CHRISSAKES!!!!!)********** ...and then learn that that character is a
lesbian. Then this boring 2D character wrestles with being a lesbian
for the remaining minutes of the film before finally, nominally,
accepting herself and entering the lesbian community---and
thennnnnnn....... WHAT?! wtf, you mean it's over?! We spent all this
time waiting for one poorly-constructed fictional character to make
poorly-constructed fictional peace with the fairly banal subject of
sexual preference, but never to actually act upon it before the movie
is over?! Yes, that's exactly what happens.

Maybe this movie was well-received because there are tons of lonely
Pacific Heights trophy wives sitting at home in their yoga clothes
relating to these vapid, mindless characters and personally invested in
their triumphs? Maybe they're misty-eyed remembering their bi-curious
OK Cupid fling between troubled marriages and yearn to remember their
gym teacher flame as Heather Graham. Or maybe this film received decent
reviews because it's one of few "coming out" films for women in the
U.S., and moreover one of few comedies. But if you're a smart dyke
looking for quality entertainment that you can strike sexy rapport
with, my advice is to look elsewhere.
October 12, 2014
An extremely cute movie teeming with likeable characters.
October 6, 2014
Thirty-something New Yorker, Gray (Heather Graham), shares just about everything with her wisecracking brother, Sam (Tom Cavanagh): old movies, swing dancing and - much to her surprise - an attraction to his gorgeous new girlfriend. Charlie (Bridget Moynahan). Never having realized she might be gay, Gray's confusion turns to desperation as she follows the "expert" advice of clueless friends, shrinks and strangers. Can she save her relationship with her brother and get the girl? Only one thing's for sure. The laws of attraction are about to be bent.

also stars Alan Cumming, Molly Shannon, Sissy Spacek, Rachel Shelley and Gloria Gaynor.

directed by Sue Kramer.
September 13, 2013
Its ok but not being a big lover of heather graham didnt help
½ March 28, 2013
i'm interested in LGBT movies NOT MUCH. but this movie was good b/c it showed how gay people struggle to share their secrete to their friends and their family. and some families still love them.
March 7, 2013
This movie was pretty dumb. Heather Graham is just not a good actress and it was so clichey! I think it's great that movies about homosexuality are in theatres, but I think it will be even better when they don't resort to lame stereotypes and fantasies about lesbians.
½ February 6, 2013
Completely average protagonist thinks they're gay film that has some cute and funny moments but on the whole is a flat disappointment. Alan Cumming and Molly Shannon kept me watching as they are the characters that bring the humour, the part where Cumming dresses up as a woman to get into the all girl bar is possibly the highlight for me. I didn''t have high expectations for this just wanted a cruisy flick to watch and I guess that's what it is. The ending is horrible - there's even a freeze frame of Graham leaping into the air so on the whole don't waste your time.
December 21, 2012
Absolutely zero creativity on display here, it relies entirely on plot and character, both of which are less than compelling. It does work sometimes (Graham is better than you would think, and it can be charming and cute when it's not being uncomfortably awkward), but Moynahan's chemistry with anybody, male or female, appears to be nonexistent, and all the character arcs are glib and unconvincing. In the pantheon of lesbian cinema, it's above average. But that isn't saying a whole lot.
December 7, 2012
Worth watching would like to see and study.
November 22, 2012
Very entertaining little movie except that the end is a let down, very weak. The subject matter was titillating and well portrayed, but I wonder if the end wasn't a post public screening rewrite.
November 9, 2012
Heather Graham's in it and it's L-Themed. Need I say more?
October 4, 2012
You lost me @Heather Graham...
October 3, 2012
gray does not matter.
October 1, 2012
An okay flick. I only wish Tom Cavanagh had a bigger part. Alan Cumming's character was fun.
September 27, 2012
i dont know what i was thinking when i rented this one. I definately did not read the whole synopsis when i got it. It is ok but really dumb! NOT BELIEVEABLE!!
September 25, 2012
hahhah... kinda noe the ending alreadi
½ August 26, 2012
This was a cute movie. Better than I thought it would be.
Page 1 of 47