Grease - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grease Reviews

Page 1 of 4
April 28, 2018
What can I say? In the immortal words belted out by Sha-Na-Na, I guess I was born to hand jive, baby.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 20, 2018
It succeeds...thanks to some toe-tapping numbers, sprightly hoofing and slick performances, not least by Stockard Channing as the most unruly teenager in town.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 18, 2018
A sugar-rush of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 11, 2018
All of the characters in Grease are insufferable, the music is catchy without actually saying anything important or meaningful.
February 8, 2018
It's a winner.
May 7, 2017
Couldn't the makers of "Grease" have unearthed one person who was alive in that time, perhaps even one who attended an American high school then, and checked their information?
June 16, 2016
It has no kind of focus in atmosphere or tone, it doesn't even have a look. It's just sort of floating insult, shopping for a subject to light on.
September 14, 2015
A grave disappointment to anyone in search of style or substance.
June 16, 2015
What makes it work is its youthful vitality, the tremendous energy and imagination expended on its virtually wall-to-wall song and dance number.
September 25, 2014
Anonymous and semi-competent filmmaking with no real personality, pepped up by the fake energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 15, 2013
The screenplay is a prepubescent shambles, the direction is by acne out of disposable douches, the dubbing and looping of the songs is painfully obvious, the characterizations are generally repulsive and the whole thing is utterly without style.
December 27, 2010
A dumb but lively rock musical.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 28, 2010
I love the film's energy. I love the movie-star charisma of John Travolta in the lead. I love the "am I doing this right?" hesitancy of much of Olivia Newton-John's performance. I love the fact that the film is so unapologetically filthy.
June 21, 2010
A film that's immortal for its unbridled enthusiasm and top notch production that makes it arguably the best musical ever made...
September 25, 2009
One of the most commercially successful transfers of a Broadway musical to the big screen, Grease is not a great movie but it's a lot of fun to watch and listen due to superlative cast.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 25, 2009
Problematic but ultimately irresistible adaptation of Jim Jacobs and Warren Casey's hit Broadway musical. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 2, 2009
...comes to life when Travolta and company are singing and dancing.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 30, 2009
Travolta is a riot. Alternately swaggering to prove his "coolness" and re-affirming his ability on the dance floor, the actor gives the kind of performance that's perfect for the role.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 30, 2008
Grease holds up for new generations because it captures the enthusiasm of youth and the vibrancy of California's sunshine-and-cars culture.
September 26, 2008
Randal Kleiser's 1978 musical, set in the Fifties, has some horrible acting but the kind of exuberance that has made it a cult classic.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 4