Grease - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grease Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Top Critic
John L. Wasserman
San Francisco Chronicle
March 15, 2013
The screenplay is a prepubescent shambles, the direction is by acne out of disposable douches, the dubbing and looping of the songs is painfully obvious, the characterizations are generally repulsive and the whole thing is utterly without style.
Eric Henderson
Slant Magazine
September 16, 2006
Despite the film's rose-tinted rearview mirrors and Ipana-worthy cheeriness, it's not so much the Wedding Singer of its day as it is the Boogie Nights.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Ben Reynolds
Film4
March 3, 2008
Travolta and Newton-John burn up the screen with all the passion of a potato salad while occasionally singing a song you know all the words to because they play it every week in small-town nightclubs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 25, 2014
Anonymous and semi-competent filmmaking with no real personality, pepped up by the fake energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Its flashy opportunism (nostalgia pitched squarely at an audience too young to even recall the era) quickly becomes very irritating.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
June 18, 2002
Grease" hasn't improved much in two decades. It remains a juvenile remembrance of a mythologized '50s, a musical lacking grace.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
December 27, 2010
A dumb but lively rock musical.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Wendy Ide
Times (UK)
September 26, 2008
Much-loved but somewhat overrated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brian Mckay
eFilmCritic.com
March 19, 2003
I didn't know that in the 1950's, high schools were populated by 30 year olds who constantly broke into nails-on-a-blackboard musical numbers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 6, 2002
Annoying film version of the play, which was annoying enough.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
July 18, 2007
Limp, cheaply made.
Derek Malcolm
Guardian
September 14, 2015
A grave disappointment to anyone in search of style or substance.
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
June 16, 2016
It has no kind of focus in atmosphere or tone, it doesn't even have a look. It's just sort of floating insult, shopping for a subject to light on.
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
June 1, 1978
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Arthur Knight
Hollywood Reporter
June 16, 2015
What makes it work is its youthful vitality, the tremendous energy and imagination expended on its virtually wall-to-wall song and dance number.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 23, 2007
... a bowdlerized version of the original stage play
| Original Score: 84/100
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Just an average musical, pleasant and upbeat and plastic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
April 30, 2009
Travolta is a riot. Alternately swaggering to prove his "coolness" and re-affirming his ability on the dance floor, the actor gives the kind of performance that's perfect for the role.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Drew McWeeny
HitFix
June 28, 2010
I love the film's energy. I love the movie-star charisma of John Travolta in the lead. I love the "am I doing this right?" hesitancy of much of Olivia Newton-John's performance. I love the fact that the film is so unapologetically filthy.
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
October 5, 2002
I'm not saying that fans should avoid this DVD (as if I could even talk you out of it), but considering the movie - this DVD should be a hell of a lot better.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5

Boston Phoenix
March 24, 2002
Page 1 of 4