The Great Escape - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Great Escape Reviews

Page 1 of 244
January 8, 2017
The Great Escape is obviously well made, sometimes interesting and well acted, but the film is structurally odd as it is very different in its two halves - the action is boring and overwhelming in the second half whereas the first half is slow and dull. It is one of those war movies that rely on action instead of drama and its running time is overblown beyond a shadow of a doubt. All in all, it is one giant overrated snoozefest.
January 7, 2017
One of my favourites... Steve McQueen on his iconic motorcycle.
December 26, 2016
The first hour is slow. But the movie gets really good and entertaining.
November 12, 2016
An original action classic, The Great Escape makes way for it's great cast and drama among the enemy prison camp
½ November 11, 2016
La grande fuga è un film che per due ore lavora su un patriottismo filo-americano scritto in modo elementare, dove gli yankees sono dei simpatici spacconi e i tedeschi dei stupidi, rigidi maestrini.
Il finale (la grande fuga citata nel titolo) invece vale la pena vederlo, sia per la leggendaria disinvoltura di McQueen su un qualsiasi mezzo a motore, ma soprattutto perché finalmente perché questa superiorità spaccona americana viene ridimensionata e portata su dei livelli più veritieri e agrodolci.
½ November 5, 2016
Tedious for the first half and then -- how great was the escape since most of them got caught or shot?
October 26, 2016
At times very fun, and other times somewhat gloomy, and those two don't really mesh well by the end of the movie, and when the end credits come up you might feel a little conflicted. The deaths that come later didn't hit ahard enough because the way they were shot, if the scene was even shot at all if it wasn't off camera. And those losses are almost obscured by the return of Hilts and etc back to the POW camps at the end, and we are left with an almost forced feeling of hopefulness and courage with the music and comedic back turn of the nazi as Hilts plays catch with himself. That being said, the performances are very good, especially from McQueen; the break out scene is very, very intense thanks to directing, cinematography and editing as well; and the bike chase scene is very fun and suspenseful as well.
October 2, 2016
Very good for my taste, but despite their raucous soundtrack could be improved a bit more.
September 24, 2016
Although the movie is over 50 years old, it's still rewatchable again and again, McQueen may have been the star of the movie, but it is Garners charm and the other legendary actors who make this movie timeless.
July 28, 2016
It's light on character development but that doesn't hold The Great Escape back from being a funny, tense and excting action movie. Simply a classic i every sense of the word.
½ July 19, 2016
More like the Mediocre Escape. Read the Wikipedia article on the REAL great escape - what actually happened is far more interesting than this stuffy, slow-paced farce with little suspense. Also, it really isn't that great of an escape considering the ending.
June 28, 2016
great classic war/action movie!! outstaning cast.
steve mcqueen is truly the "King of Cool"
June 2, 2016
Painfully dull. I think it's very overrated, and it's a long and uneventful movie to sit through. (First and only viewing - 6/1/2016)
Super Reviewer
May 22, 2016
One of the great epic films. The Great Escape starts off slowly but is so full of detail. The film builds to its ultimate finale, and has one of the greatest action sequences in history: Steve McQueen's motorcycle chase. I have lost count how many times i have seen this. Its rewatchability is unrivaled.
½ May 22, 2016
Intelligent, nail-biting, and nicely light, "The Great Escape" is a solid 172 minutes.
May 21, 2016
A captivating film of POW escaping under the noses of the Germans. While watching you become a part of the plan and escape. Lovely balance of humor, action and drama.
May 19, 2016
One of the great epic films. The Great Escape starts off slowly but is so full of detail. The film builds to its ultimate finale, and has one of the greatest action sequences in history: Steve McQueen's motorcycle chase. I have lost count how many times i have seen this. Its rewatchability is unrivaled.
½ May 3, 2016
Great cast. Great story. One of the best WW2 films ever.
March 24, 2016
If you've never seen a Steve McQueen movie before, this is a good one to start with. It was my first, and the only one I needed in order for me to be hooked. You somehow know it's going to be alright when he's on screen. Always ahead of his time with his colloquial demeanor, McQueen helps bridge the gap between old and new Hollywood, making the classics more accessible to younger audiences.

But The Great Escape is entertaining even when McQueen isn't present. The 1963 classic mixes suspense and levity brilliantly as it follows a group of allied prisoners in a German camp attempting their biggest escape yet during World War II.

The Great Escape is plot buildup at its finest. Writer-director, John Sturges, has an impeccable sense of narrative. From start to finish its tone never wavers. And even with its juggernaut of a runtime clocking in at nearly 3 hours, you're never checking your watch.

Although in this day and age it helps to know the history--seeing as World War II was still fairly fresh in everyone's minds back in 1963. But setting aside, you can still appreciate the general storyline. Even a younger audience should be able to follow along easily and still enjoy this movie's timely humor.

Elmer Bernstein's score helps to drive this film with strong motifs. It echoes The Bridge on the River Kwai, but has a feel all of its own.

The Great Escape is a phenomenal film. It's consistent and thoroughly engaging, and the type of movie that just puts a smile on your face. With a little help from McQueen, it holds up very well. He's at his best here, like always. And the rest of the cast is so strong that this film is great even when he's absent--he's just the cherry on top.

Twizard Rating: 100
Page 1 of 244