Green Book - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Green Book Reviews

Page 1 of 16
December 21, 2018
Green Book lulls audiences into feeling as if they are opening their minds to topic of inequality without having to confront the issue in any meaningful way.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
December 8, 2018
Green Book, is the Oscar-baitiest of Oscar-bait films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 19, 2018
M oviegoers who will leave this movie having learned for the first time that Dr. Shirley and Green Books existed but only through a white lens, deserved better than this shallow introduction to an integral part of Black history.
December 16, 2018
Hums along about smoothly as what boils down to 'My Cousin Vinny Teaches Carlton Banks To Get His Blackness Back' probably can."
February 3, 2019
Green Book is a film about racism told by white people. And it really, really shows.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 24, 2019
'Green Book' has all the hallmarks of a new American classic. But dig a little deeper and you'll soon discover this "feel-good" film is problematic as all hell, making its adoration by awards season rather infuriating.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 6, 2018
Thanks to a blazing performance from Mahershala Ali, you might even believe that Green Book is good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 9, 2019
Green Book has a race problem, but it delivers cringeworthy depictions of women and gay men too.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.00/5
November 21, 2018
The perfect comfort film to take your racist uncle too, cause heck, even if they are a closed-minded ass, being a racist can still be...funny?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 18, 2019
The screenplay essentially turns Shirley into a black man who thematically shapeshifts into whoever will make the story appealing to white audiences - and that's inexcusable.
November 28, 2018
Green Book operates in a Fisher Price world, where every heart can be changed and friendship always prevails.
March 14, 2019
Another story where white people have to learn about black people's humanity, and the black characters exist so the white characters are able to learn and grow.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
December 11, 2018
Green Book (fancies) itself a progressive .... awards season film, but there are moments in the narrative which are unbelievably tone deaf and in truth, almost regressive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2
October 20, 2018
For the life of me, I can't see what distinguishes this from the tons of other polite Oscar dramas that came before it. We're in familiar territory here, and the formula has produced much stronger, more dynamic results than this.
March 2, 2019
If it were shown on television, I might stop by to see a bit of Mortenson and Mahershala, but I'd change the channel before it made my eyes roll.
Full Review | Original Score: Catch It On Cable
November 12, 2018
Green Book would rather bury its head in a past that never was than to be relevant to a present it finds too unpleasant to address.
November 15, 2018
With its insistence on the pretense of loving our way into racial harmony, the movie exists almost exclusively to allow white moviegoers to nod sagely about how far we've come.
October 19, 2018
A feel-good story if you are somehow able to look past the overbearing reality of today's pervading racism.
February 1, 2019
Even with admirable acting, and such a crowd-pleasing, inspirational story, Green Book essentially feels like civil-rights lip-service for a white audience... it's a disappointing portrayal of historical systemic racism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 7, 2019
...the film merely skims the surface of systemic American racism, choosing to forgo depth for formulaic feel-good tropes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 16