Green Book Reviews

Page 2 of 17
April 2, 2019
The chemistry between the leads is outstanding!
March 14, 2019
Another story where white people have to learn about black people's humanity, and the black characters exist so the white characters are able to learn and grow.
March 13, 2019
Both characters end up supporting each other in their different and even opposing abilities... But the film goes beyond this skilful dramaturgical design around racism. [Full review in Spanish]
March 11, 2019
Green Book takes a muddled viewpoint of racism. But together, Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen bring to screen an unforgettable chemistry that's poignant, rousing, and which single-handedly enlivens the broad strokes of the film's script.
March 11, 2019
Sometimes life is stranger than art, sometimes art imitates life, and sometimes life imitates art. If life starts imitating hopeful art-that's uplifting. That's the goal of art, as I see it. "Green Book" uplifts.
March 11, 2019
Meaning well counts for nothing in art. What does count is the ability of Mortensen and Ali to invest their characters with as much truth as they can.
March 8, 2019
Is it a feel-good charmer poised to rake in greenbacks and Oscar gold? You bet! But don't let that keep you away from this overall well balanced (and timed) look forward from the safe distance of America's motley past.
March 7, 2019
"A shameless Oscar-bait".
March 6, 2019
It's one thing to depict racial inequality by presenting facts, but it's truly a moving experience when it's told in such a personal level and see how hearts are being transformed by personal relationships.
March 4, 2019
Once I shook off the glossy trappings of "Green Book" and its on-the-nose ending, I couldn't still enjoy the friendship brought to life on the screen.
March 2, 2019
If it were shown on television, I might stop by to see a bit of Mortenson and Mahershala, but I'd change the channel before it made my eyes roll.
March 2, 2019
Did Green Book deserve the best film Oscar? The short answer is "no", the longer answer is "no, but it's still a great movie".
February 28, 2019
An instant classic. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 28, 2019
Both men are consciously exaggerated types. The fascinating contrast at the center of the story is to what degree and for what reason each of them chooses to be.
February 27, 2019
By the end it turns into a Hallmark Christmas movie with color-blind, non-homophobic hugs all around.
February 25, 2019
While Green Book is one of the lesser films to bear the Farrelly imprimatur, it can be appreciated for its role in revealing so nakedly the rules of the prestige picture sweepstakes.
February 25, 2019
Green Book lacks the depth it aspires to, and only works on a very superficial level. Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali give exceptional performances but this message movie fumbles its message.
February 25, 2019
I don't know if Green Book deserved a nomination for Best Film. It's two actors undoubtedly deserved it. [Full review in Spanish]
February 24, 2019
Green Book is still a warm-hearted crowd pleaser that achieves its mission thanks to the two stellar performances from Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen.
February 22, 2019
A film with great performances, a solid script that is a must see this year. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 2 of 17