Greenberg - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Greenberg Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 20, 2013
His sharpest observations are reserved for preternaturally intelligent, hyper-self-conscious outsiders whose existential crises are the failure of the world-and, to some extent, themselves-to live up to their own high expectations.
November 21, 2012
Stiller succeeds in a dramatic role but the script underwhelms with a meandering story and an unlikable lead character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
October 5, 2012
Not the feel-good film of the year, but Greenberg is a powerful account of how a few lost souls can find meaning and direction in life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 4, 2011
Obviously there's running commentary from director Noah Baumbach -- his characters are never free of context -- but they don't have epiphanies, they don't learn and they don't apologize. It's kind of refreshing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 9, 2011
Baumbach's writing and direction of these characters display more of a novelistic touch...but the approach produces a deeply felt view of flawed individuals.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 31, 2011
Greenberg is not an enjoyable movie, but it's a unique experience that will mostly appeal to cinephiles with insatiable appetites for character-driven small films.
December 16, 2010
Ben Stiller plays the most repellent character I have ever seen in a movie and that includes "Dracula". If you are going to feature a repellent character, you have to make him or her interesting. Bela Lugosi was a huge success by comparison.
December 1, 2010
This is more of a character study than it is a real story. The characters in the film are vivid and they make indelible impressions. The acting is excellent all around.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 27, 2010
From the ever-inventive mind of Noah Baumbach comes a deep comedy that seems to combine elements from his last two films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 25, 2010
A typically low-key effort from Noah Baumbach...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 5, 2010
The engine that drives Greenberg is this tension between the illusion of our outward projection and the absolute loathing of the worms underneath.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 3, 2010
Baumbach may think he's found a rare happy ending when he puts these two together, but I highly doubt it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 16, 2010
Baumbach's movie once again walks a fine line between being off-putting and being fascinating in its character study, and for me the positives win out.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 15, 2010
Greenberg is inevitably, productively divisive in tone and topical focus-and this in itself strikes me as a good thing-but you cannot say the filmmakers aren't trying to use all the resources available to the form.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 11, 2010
Watching the social and family dynamics play out in this film reveals a whole life lived in these rhythms and traps, which is not always pleasant... but certainly interesting.
August 11, 2010
Good luck with yourself, Greenberg. But I think I want to break up.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 8, 2010
Far from the usual slapstick laced with smarts comedy, Greenberg is Ben Stiller's Punch Drunk Love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 1, 2010
The characters are so socially destructive that it's difficult to care what happens to any of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 29, 2010
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 27, 2010
Roger Greenberg is not the kind of guy you want to wind up next to at a dinner party.
Page 1 of 9