Gremlins 2: The New Batch - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gremlins 2: The New Batch Reviews

Page 1 of 266
½ February 8, 2018
Anyone looking for a continuation of the first movie's tones and themes will be sorely disappointed, which was kind of the point of the film. Sequels are a poor idea unless the first film could have been successfully expanded upon, not dragged out. This film is a representation of the ridiculous notion that is the modern sequel, as it can never truly pull you into the story unless it's a direct continuation or at the very least very consistent. But this movie makes a point in not being consistent, in fact its a marvel of organized chaos. It is fitting that the film opens with the fourth wall breaking bugs bunny and Daffy Duck, in fact it is a perfect opening for it. It introduces the tone so early on as if to suspend your idea this will be a traditional sequel, a proverbial, "Beware all yee who enter here", if you will.
While it is a different tone it is still faithful to the absolute chaotic nature of it's namesake, i'd argue even more so than the original. While in the first movie its a comedic horror flick that set up an entire Spielberg-esque film for the gremlins to hijack, The New Batch allows them to simply take over the movie itself both literally midway into the movie and figuratively through the monolithic and entirely corporate Clamp Tower. It is a pure romp in ways of comedy and the art of film making itself, satirizing the disingenuous nature of the film industry. As I said, anyone looking for direct sequel will be sorely disappointed, because that's not what this movie was made to be.
½ January 16, 2018
This is a horrible sequel to a great movie. Whereas Gremlins gets better after every watch this gets worse.
Not sure what anyone making this movie was thinking.
December 14, 2017
All puppets, no plot, but who doesn't love a Joe Dante flick? Gremlins 2: The New Batch is so messy, loud, and unfocused but it is also designed to be more of a B movie than its predecessor, which I think caters to the midnight movie crowd. Is it a perfect sequel, hell no, but that may have been the point, and while I am somewhat relieved we never got a Gremlins 3, for a time-killer, the film is entraining, plus Phoebe Cates and Christopher Lee... need I say more? Also, this is post Die Hard, so the entire thing takes place in a professional building, in other words, it's Gremlins meets Die Hard... Awesome!
½ December 7, 2017
Lots of over-the-top, mischevious fun!
Mark H.
Super Reviewer
December 6, 2017
One of the worst sequels (and worst movies) ever made. This movie somehow has a 67% RT score? And movies like Mr. Wrong, which at least has some funny scenes, has a single-digit score. Leonard Maltin didn't like the first Gremlins, which is his right. But when they cast him in this turd and gave him a cameo, he gave this movie a BETTER review than the first. 3 out of 4 stars? No way. This movie has no plot, no point, and some of the oddest, most random creature-creations by Rick Baker imaginable. There is no reason these creatures are so wildly diverse and varied compared to the first movie. It's as if Joe Dante and gang didn't bother to explain WHY the creatures look like bats, spiders, slow-witted rednecks and others wear glasses and talk. Bizarre. Characters WHO DIED in Gremlins are back for this "sequel." A $50 million budget + unlimited creative control resulted in this piece of garbage. The studio deserved to lose 10 million at the box office. SO bad.
½ November 17, 2017
The start of this film is entertaining, But it just gets carried away and becomes almost unwatchable
November 12, 2017
A bit over the top and too silly for my taste. While I wasn't a fan of it either, I think the first one is decent and part 2 was not needed.
½ October 22, 2017
Closer to a live action Looney Tunes film than the horror comedy people were expecting, this is anarchic satire at its best. The primary target of its satirical bent is (surprisingly) the original Gremlins, but Donald Trump and Ted Turner are also frequently skewered. This is the perfect full stop to '80s corporatist America, openly mocking the trend of unnecessary sequels and the greed at the heart of the decade. Many people will be put off by the meta-textual elements, but if you want to see a filmmaker completely cut loose and gleefully bite the hand that feeds him, this is the movie for you.
August 23, 2017
A whimsical parody of everything Spielberg and company tried to do with the first movie. In many ways, this movie was the antithesis of the 1980s darkly funny horror and went full 1990s adult cartoon cheese. Its Loony Tunes introduction sets the tone for the film which is rarely disturbing but amazingly gory for a PG-13 rating. Bonus points for the pre-Trump era parody of Daniel Clamp, an ode to old world benevolent narcissism.
July 7, 2017
i love this movie oppsessed
June 25, 2017
The only thing really appealing about Gremlins 2: The New Batch are the visuals, the bright, new gremlin puppets, and the humor. The second one fails miserably to even get close to beating the original.
June 16, 2017
fun stupid satirical comedy. makes fun of itself and the first movie. some of the humor seems to have been ahead of its time. plus the stupid humor. there was lots of dumb stuff as is standard with old movies. and earlier in the movie a couple of the maguai gremlins went way over the goofiness line and were really annoying. googly eyes and stupid laughs. but the second half of the movie was much better, much funnier. addition of some new funny characters. and I WANT GIZMO. he's so awesome. (about 2 viewings)


SPOILERS


rambo-gizmo lmao. the funniest part in the movie is when the girl starts talking about how she had a horrible experience on lincoln's birthday. it was making fun of a similar scene about a bad experience she had on christmas in the first movie. they did this during the climax, and her boyfriend interrupted her and said we really don't have time for this. and the story itself was funny.
April 30, 2017
A worthy sequel, gremlins 2 captures everything that made the first one so great. Gremlins 2 focuses more on the slapstick side of humour as opposed to the darker themes shown in its predecessor. Gremlins 2 involves an office block in new york getting over run with gremlins, which causes chaos to ensue. This is great addition and contains many jokes, calamity and pure barminess that'l keep you rolling with laughter.
April 1, 2017
This site didnīt exist back then, it was a great movie!. very fond memories bout it
March 25, 2017
I think this will be a great movie just like the first one!!!!!!!!!!
March 21, 2017
An absolute masterpiece. The best movie ever made (next to Aliens). Smart satire, excellent special effects, and hilarious comedy make this an absolute must-watch.
March 20, 2017
Not as good as original
February 5, 2017
Taken on it's own terms as a much spoofier sequel to the original Gremlins movie, it's very creative, mostly well written and entertaining. However with so much affection for the original I had a hard time with this due to it's intentionally much spoofier style.

Big production values but an idea that doesn't particularly gel well with the first Gremlins movie.
January 5, 2017
Too cartoon-y. I mean the movie even opens with Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck! Sure, I got a few laughs out of it, but mostly it was just a muddled series of parody and slapstick humor which dragged on for way too long.
October 18, 2016
An average movie that had decent humor, a great beginning leading to a lackluster second half. A nice movie to watch once a year.
Page 1 of 266