Greta - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Greta Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 8, 2019
Manages to waste both Moretz and Huppert's talents - something I didn't think would be even possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 7, 2019
At its best, Greta offers some pulpy B-movie fun delivered by A-list talent...worth seeing for those parts where the freak flag is really flying, but ultimately, it's just another stalker thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 5, 2019
These women are so boring it's offensive. It's offensive to imagine two men trying so ardently and so poorly to guess how young women speak and behave.
March 1, 2019
Greta is a seriously flawed film - tone-deaf dialogue, characters that don't behave like real human beings - but in Huppert's hands it becomes a guilty pleasure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 9, 2019
As for the prominent leitmotif, Franz Liszt's Liebestraum (Love Dream), it just serves to stir up yearnings for something deeper and artistically satisfying, instead of, alas, leaving us with an illusive dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 2 Ripples
September 19, 2018
Greta simply isn't frightening enough to be a great horror film, and it's not campy enough to be a guilty pleasure. Greta could have been great fun -- and a much stronger film -- had it leaned into its genre origins.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 28, 2019
It opens strong, develops well and relies on Huppert's supernatural presence to create palpable tension before going entirely off the rails.
Full Review | Original Score: 2
February 27, 2019
The number of pills Greta asks you to swallow to invest in its story are of ample amount, but varies in size throughout, bringing the film to a halt oh so many times.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 4, 2019
This is a parody.
March 4, 2019
For as crazy as this was... this is nothing that's on my mind when I leave.
March 1, 2019
Once a staple of 90s horror/thriller cinema, the stalker subgenre takes an unfortunate step backward in Neil Jordan's new film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 1, 2019
There are gigantic plot holes, with the story being far too dependent on luck (both good and bad) and coincidence.
January 8, 2019
It was, in fact, barely a thriller and while I did rattle my brain trying to make sense of what I was seeing, my nerves were fully intact at the end of the viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 4, 2019
Greta offers nothing to the world of cinema.
March 1, 2019
Greta is about 15 years too late to be progressive.
February 27, 2019
Greta the movie is similar, veering between subdued and moments of insanity, to disappointing ends.
February 25, 2019
It's the rare thriller that escalates in such a tactless, telegraphed way you end up duped into believing a self-aware twist must be coming.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 26, 2019
Huppert and Jordan seek to add a maternal extinct to these well-worn formula, but perhaps they should've also brought a tent to go with their sinister binoculars, because there's nothing here but a lot of camp.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 1, 2019
Filled with "Jaws"-y surprise moments, it's less likely to elicit shivers than giggles. So does much of the dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 1, 2019
Don't be fooled by the upscale window dressing: Greta is fun trash.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 10