Grimm's Snow White - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grimm's Snow White Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ January 10, 2015
Grimm's Snow White Movie Review!

You know, I came in expecting to see a somewhat generic bad movie of Snow White. Instead, what do I get? The Asylum. God damn it, people. Why do The Asylum keep getting work?! Nothing is right in this world.

The premise is thus: (As per the story of Snow White) An evil queen takes control of the kingdom of her dead husband and tries to rid herself of Snow White for being "fairer" than her. Hijinks (and killings) soon occur.

The acting is kind of good. It's average at best, really. See, when The Asylum tackles anything else than just sheer ridiculousness, they can actually come close to tackling a semi-passable spoof film. It doesn't mean it'll come out good, but it'll be less shitty than the rest. And then comes the final act of the movie. Where the fights are so stupid, it really sucks to have said it was kind of good.

The CGI. Like any typical Asylum film, say it with me: They suck. But of course! What can you expect from these people? You'd think they'd care enough. That's asking too much though.

The story. Well, if it's the classical story, it shou- Oh, it's not? They add giant monstrous lizards, weird-ass CGI dogs? Well, that's just fantas- Oh, elves too? Really? That's just fantastic. No, I'm glad. No, seriously. No, I'm glad! I digress.

It's not the worse Asylum movie. But eh...I still wouldn't recommend it. If you're gonna watch a B-movie, go watch anything else that isn't made from The Asylum.

It receives a 3 out of 10.
½ June 16, 2014
A very dull film in all aspects. Very wooden acting across the board leaves you unable to get into the story. Completely uninspiring script with laughable CGI that wouldn't look out of place in a nineties film (a bad one at that). I find it surprising that films this poor still manage to get churned out. I seriously wouldn't waste your time on this unless you wish to marvel at its lack of absolutely everything that makes a good film. It has no redeeming qualities.
April 20, 2014
Terribly cheap and cheesy movie. Okay for netflix browsing
January 9, 2014
I enjoyed the film and the unique interpretation of the plot line. The acting was good and the characters were believable. I have not given 5 stars due to the strange editing / weird things. A "dog" is very close, about to attack and then disappears. The Queen's demise is ridiculously easy and we see nothing of the clash of swords. Elves who can make themselves invisible should certainly do so during battle. Sorry if I've spoiled anything for you.
If you enjoy spotting continuity errors, you'll be happy. Watch the bit where the huntsman removes Snow White's ring.
I found the age gap between Snow White and the Prince a little bit uncomfortably big. Overall though, an enjoyable film and suitable to watch with little kids. I recommend it.
½ July 7, 2013
Bad casting, lousy production.
½ March 3, 2013
WHY DOES SNOW WHITE LOOK LIKE ALICE IN WONDERLAND?!... horrific movie lol
½ February 2, 2013
Well to start with Snow White is blonde and is wearing Alice's dress from wonderland. Although the acting isnt too bad and the scenery is nice this would have made a better film without the Snow White tag as then we wouldn't have expectations. Also Dwarves were missing, being replaced by Elves. And there are badly CG'd dragons. Oh well
December 11, 2012
I wanted to be interested in this movie. Snow White with dragons! But within minutes it lost my attention. I've got it playing right now and am more interested in the reviews I'm reading about it. I can appreciate a retelling of a well-known story and even a low-budget film, but this one just couldn't keep my attention. For an Asylum film it isn't so bad (I didn't even realize it was by Asylum until my husband told me), but it just tries too hard.

The backgrounds are beautiful, and some of the costumes are nice (though some look like they were pulled out of a dress-up box or the wearer's closet). The acting isn't the greatest, but it isn't the worse.

The music is nice, but there is too much of it. It's almost non-stop. It should be used to augment a story when appropriate, not to be what drives the entire film. Since we don't go through life with theme music, it's just not possible to really get into the story. Snow was just saved from death at the huntman's hands, and this scene would be much improved upon without the music.
½ November 30, 2012
This take on Snow White is very exciting. The plot keeps you on the edge of your set till the very end.
November 8, 2012
For a low budget film I liked it! It was better than Mirror Mirror! Ha!
½ October 10, 2012
I really lost interest just starting the video and couldn't get into it at all.
½ September 29, 2012
Goes waaaaaaaaayyyyy off course! Slow and boring! Didn't like it at all! :(
August 24, 2012
The movie suffers horribly from it's low budget. While meh graphics can be ignored, the obvious empty sets of props, (lack of servants, subjects, more than one set of clothing for royal characters, and anything a kingdom would actually have), really takes away from it. The script needed to be polished by someone who knows how to write. Also of note: 32 minutes into the storyline, and dragons seem to be only a plot device; their mannerisms are never explained. Why do they only kill certain people in a group, and then just up and leave their bodies? And why do the elves look like random townsfolk from a renaissance festival?

Overall, it reads like a high school play. The actors for both Snow White and the visiting Prince seem to have talent, but they are being held back by the low budget and terrible script.
August 17, 2012
Pretty pathetic. In this day and age, there is no excuse for lame graphics, and this movie was on the level with Scooby Doo. Not that it matters, lack of plot and real acting ability makes this not worth the time.
August 11, 2012
Horrible but, apparently, I need to see every Snow White story. Ugh.
July 29, 2012
This movie SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKKKKSSSS
½ July 8, 2012
Bored senseless....I couldn't make myself finish it
July 6, 2012
Not bad, but the plot could have been developed so much more. They introduced all these new ideas into the traditional story but then they didn't do anything with them.
½ June 21, 2012
Surprisingly enough, it looks like someone actually put a budget together for this movie, but the actors seem to be as skilled as porn stars and the cinematography is jarring.
½ June 21, 2012
zero stars this movie is really idiotic it reminded me of a SyFy channel movie I mean talk about corney
Page 1 of 2