Grizzly Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grizzly Man Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 11, 2005
[Grizzly Man] fails to establish Treadwell as much more than a serious headcase, let alone a titanic figure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 10, 2005
Herzog's pretentious manipulation of the material turns what might have been an interesting nature film into a biased character study.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 29, 2009
Did we really need the poorly staged interviews and confrontations...?
September 10, 2005
Herzog comes across as the worst kind of cinematic jackass-the filmmaker who doesn't trust his own work to speak for itself.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 10, 2006
Bear ambition
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 12, 2005
I guess the movie is fascinating in a train-wreck kind of way, but I wasn't sure if the documentary is a tribute to Treadwell or just exploiting a tragic accident.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 18, 2005
Devious manipulation attempting to change the reputation of a madman from an apparent coward who lured his girl friend to her death into a hero urging her to escape.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 25, 2005
Wild Kingdom was never like this... In Herzog's bizarre rerun, Treadwell gets to be the star of his own movie. The only thing he had to do was die.
August 16, 2005
Wait for video ... Thirty minutes of this would have been mesmerizing. Over three times that amount is just repetitious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 28, 2006
Not really a nature film (unless maybe human nature?). I just couldn't help but feel it was more opportunistic than inspired. I left feeling somewhat manipulated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: D-
August 14, 2005
Treadwell produced home movies with some of the most spectacular images of the wild that one is likely to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 7, 2005
An alternately gripping and funny-charming nature film and psychological study.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 11, 2005
Grizzly Man is by turns hilarious, scary, touching, beautiful, bizarre, fascinating and always thought and argument provoking.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
August 11, 2005
Grizzly Man is unlike any nature documentary I've seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 9, 2005
Compelling material from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 12, 2005
Grizzly Man approaches greatness for all the things it touches on and the one thing it resists.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 5, 2009
Remarkable beauty and wonder
February 2, 2005
A heartbreaking cautionary tale for those who "love" nature more than they "understand" it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 5, 2005
A mesmerizing portrait of a man who staged a 13-year dance with death.
Page 1 of 7