Grown Ups 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grown Ups 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
John Fink
The Film Stage
July 11, 2016
It's not terribly deep and insightful, as moments in The Way, Way Back are, but Grown Ups 2 is comfortable and, at times, genuinely hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 29, 2013
Adam Sandler's follow-up to one of the most improbable blockbuster comedy hits in film history - Grown Ups took $270m in 2010 - is a similarly plotless, reasonably pleasant, rough-edged comic ramble.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Rick Kisonak
Seven Days
July 22, 2013
Sandler and his pals are in the enviable position of having the muscle to do their thing for fun and profit.
Michael A. Smith
July 12, 2013
Some of the gags are childish but really, isn't that why you go to a movie like this in the first place? I know that's why I do.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Adam Graham
Detroit News
July 12, 2013
Friendship, family and breasts: Sometimes that's all you need.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
July 11, 2013
Every iota of logic, common decency and college educated critical self within me all but screamed that this film is an insult to my intelligence and an affront to the entire human race and I'd listen if I wasn't so busy laughing.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
July 11, 2013
In certain ways, Grown Ups 2 marks a return to classically Sandlerian infantile anarchy.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Christopher Campbell
Film School Rejects
July 11, 2013
All I can say is I didn't DISlike it. It astounded me too much with its nonsense, and it's not nearly as offensive as I'd anticipated. So I have no real issue with it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
J. Olson
April 12, 2016
Few of the characters' actions make any sense, be it in the context of Hollywood clichés, real life, or anything even resembling reality.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Gabrielle Bondi
The Young Folks
July 20, 2015
It's a shame how lazy and pointless Grown Ups 2 is.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/10
Sean Burns
May 5, 2015
Laziness wafts from the screen like a foul odor.
Top Critic
Drew Hunt
Chicago Reader
July 28, 2014
Sandler's films have always been stupid, but the early stuff is pretty harmless; here the jokes almost always come at the expense of someone else, the kind of needless bullying one expects of a YouTube comment section.
Simon Crook
Empire Magazine
July 28, 2014
[A] slothful, indulgent sequel that sees a once-great screen comedian hit self-inflicted Sandlergeddon.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jake Wilson
Sydney Morning Herald
July 28, 2014
Rob Schneider, the butt of many jokes in the first Grown-Ups, is nowhere to be seen. Salma Hayek, as Lenny's wife, looks understandably tense and irritable throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Michael Arbeiter
July 28, 2014
The single consistent throughline Grown Ups 2 seems to have, in fact, is its bigotry.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
July 28, 2014
[A] witless, clueless and utterly pointless sequel to a comedy that pulled in boatloads of cash, but was beloved by absolutely no one.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Christopher Tookey
Daily Mail (UK)
July 28, 2014
The only good news is that the five friends in the original film have been whittled down to four.
Michael Smith
Tulsa World
July 28, 2014
Transgender jokes, fat jokes (always James, happy to look stupid), homeliness jokes, mama's boy jokes -- the picture was made by people who like to put down people, and it was made for people who like to tease others or watch others be insulted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
David Aldridge
Radio Times
July 28, 2014
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
July 28, 2014
Directing once again is schlock auteur Dennis Dugan, and the result is an $80 million YouTube video.
| Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 6