The Grudge - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Grudge Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 22, 2004
I eventually lost all patience. The movie may have some subterranean level on which the story strands connect and make sense, but it eluded me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 6, 2004
Generally speaking, I like a little more plot with my 'Boo!' moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 22, 2004
We need to care about Karen. That we never quite do isn't scary. It's merely disappointing.
October 21, 2004
There are some creepy images and gotcha scares but nothing can disguise the fact that this is just a "who gets it next and how does he get it" movie.
Read More | Original Score: C
December 28, 2010
Grisly ghost story lacks plot; not for tweens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 20, 2004
Stylish but shallow horror
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 20, 2004
Shimizu may have sold out and bastardized his own calling card, but at least he got the ghost hand thing in again.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 1, 2004
Japanese cult chiller remake isn't your usual Hollywood horror flick, but it also isn't very good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 22, 2004
If you consider sudden shrieks of music and pale Asian children the pinnacle of all things terrfiying, then The Grudge is your next favorite movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 26, 2004
It's no more impressive than hiding in the dark and shouting 'Boo!' when someone walks into a room.
November 6, 2004
It's disappointing to realize that the film truly IS nothing more than a series of people dying. We usually like our thrillers to have something more to them.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 20, 2004
Dismally lost in translation.
Full Review
October 21, 2004
The Grudge is not the worst film of the year, but that's about the biggest compliment I can give it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
October 21, 2004
Less scary than creepy, The Grudge may have lost some oomph in the translation from Japanese to English.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 21, 2004
Even Shimizu can't stop Hollywood from yet another miscalculated attempt to strip down and simplify overseas horror for the suburban mallrats.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 14, 2008
...just cannibalizes itself, exploiting Japanese spirituality for a few Saturday-night shocks...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 21, 2004
A scattering of scary moments surrounded by scenes that only serve to test your patience and kill time.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 6, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 2, 2004
This American remake... has a kind of watered down feel to it, as if it were just a necessary step to be taken in a long series of events.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 13, 2014
Completely misses the point of the original.
Page 1 of 8