The Grudge 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Grudge 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 30, 2006
Those who didn't find The Grudge scary will be disappointed with The Grudge 2 -- it's almost a repeat of the original film but with new victims.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 15, 2006
Like The Grudge before it, there are multiple plots here, but this time they are more tenuously related.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
October 13, 2006
The horrific child with huge eyes and the pale waif with a curtain of black hair continue to torment the innocent by appearing unpleasantly under desks and in reflections.
Read More | Original Score: C
December 30, 2006
The Grudge 2 starts out ridiculous, then gets boring, then irritating.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
October 13, 2006
The Grudge 2 merely confirms that the series (and, perhaps, the J-horror genre as a whole) has finally run its course
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 13, 2006
If there's anything more pointless than a sequel that simply duplicates its predecessor's story and characters, it's a review of that sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 16, 2006
Even my pathological love of Japan and its beauties, glories and eccentricities is sorely tested by The Grudge 2, from Takashi Shimizu, a movie so bewildering and impenetrable that I believe it siphoned off a good 40 IQ points.
October 14, 2006
If you have your unholy and unstoppable spirits crawling out of photo developing solution to chill the crowd, maybe this series should've quit while it was ahead.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
October 13, 2006
I mean, for all I know, I could be cursed for just watching this nonsense. Wait, what's that under my desk?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 20, 2006
...yet another American remake...of an incomprehensible Japanese horror film...
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 21, 2006
These films are popular with teenagers who haven't seen it all before, who don't see every jump scare coming a mile off.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 13, 2006
There are a couple of good jumps here and there, but we've seen this all before. And the creepy, dead girl, having been infinitely parodied (especially in Scary Movie 4), doesn't seem quite so creepy anymore.
October 17, 2006
Chen's bizarre, wooden acting -- full of awkward pauses -- only emphasizes just how awful Susco's script really is.
October 19, 2006
Consequently, The Grudge 2 is ruthlessly uneventful and as generically scary as stale pumpkin pie two weeks removed from a sedate Halloween party.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
April 29, 2009
It's a random series of attempted frights that fails at every turn.
January 8, 2007
full review in Greek
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 24, 2007
Repetition is the death of horror.
October 19, 2006
Vapid, silly and about as scary as an Adam Sandler film.
September 25, 2010
Takashi Shimizu telegraphs scares to the point of numbness. Peek under a table? There's the boy! The room a bit too quiet, is it? It's the girl! All that's frightening are the actors' pained facial expressions, suggesting an epidemic of farty indigestion.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Page 1 of 4