Guide de la petite vengeance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Guide de la petite vengeance Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 9, 2009
It was okay, although it kinda felt like your standard jewelry shop/bank-heist thriller. Kept me mildly entertained throughout, and while there's nothing really awful about it, there's nothing really spectacular about it either. Very so-so for sure.
November 10, 2008
pleins de clin d'oeuil ; )
September 18, 2008 rebondissant!!
Super Reviewer
March 14, 2008
directed by Jean-François Pouliot
starring Marc Béland, Michel Muller, Gabriel GasconVengeance has been an important theme in movies this past decades. From Memento to Oldboy and Kill Bill, they all brought different insight and served they revenge differently. The French-Canadian Guide de la petite vengeance tackles the same issue but with more depth and as a dark comedy.Bernard is an accountant in a jewelry. His boss is really taking advantage of him but in a very subtle way, playing on his mind with small pettiness. But when he takes notice of that and his own situation, its too late, cause he has already lost his family and cant really remember who he is, until he meet a strange man, who claims he used to have his job. Together they plan a revenge on Vendôme, the boss. They want to steal just a few diamonds just to bug him a little and feel better about themselves. Its not about the money, it really is about the revenge and appreciating, savouring the moment.The first part of the film is spent establishing the main character and how naive he has become about his life. We understand he didnt always used to be like that and that make his situation even more tragic when he tries, in vain, to win back his wife. We also see the preparation of the robbery with some funny stuff and its all entertaining. Second part is the most interesting though, with the character having to deal with his done revenge and slowly becoming again, who he used to be. Guide de la petite vengeance is filled with details that make the whole experience even more enjoyable. The script by Ken Scott is extremely clever and its very well-written. The insight about what revenge is really all about is very good stuff and the dark humor is perfect with that type of material.It would have been easy to cast bigger stars for this film but except for Pascale Bussières, the cast is made of lesser known actor, but not lesser talent ones. Marc Béland in the lead is perfect, he is believable in both persona he is and used to be. Gabriel Gascon as the boss is cold and scary in a way, he uses his voice perfectly. Michel Mueller, an Austrian actor, quite known overseas, in France, does play psychopath very well. Guide de la petite vengeance can obviously deceive a lot of people cause its made by the same French-Canadian team behind La grande séduction a very funny and feel-good film, so people might expect the same from this one, but its the total opposite, but doesnt mean its not a good film. Good stuff.
February 27, 2008
The best Canadian film I saw at last year's VIFF; this Quebecois comedy about a diamond heist demands to be seen. From the director of "Seducing Doctor Lewis"
January 23, 2008
Tres decevant. Je m'attendais a plus de la part de l'auteur de la Grande Seduction. Le scenario dirige mal son intrigue et semble ne pas savoir comment la terminee et ce qu'il veut demontrer au spectateur. L'humour noir tombe souvent a plat et alourdi le deroulement du film. En fait, ce qui manque surtout au film : c'est du rythme, de la chimie entre les acteurs et de bonnes interpretations. Marc Beland et son accolyte voleur nous laisse insensible devant leur malheur tellement leur interpretation est fade et maladroite. De plus, les deux acteurs sont parfois inaudibles ce qui nous rend la comprehension du film difficile. Il manque enormement de chimie entre les acteurs et d'enthousiasme de leur part vis à vis du projet. Personne ne semble heureux de jouer dans ce film ou de jouer avec son partenaire. Bref, je n'y ai pas cru du tout et j'ai trouve le temps tres long a le visonner. Seule Pascale Bussieres m'a plu par son cote doux et simple, mais encore là, c'est loin d'etre sa meilleure performance.
½ November 26, 2007
Personnages attachants et imprévisibles. Intrigue bien ficellée.
½ November 10, 2007
What's missing in this movie is that is not THAT fluid.. But actorsa re pretty good, music by Ben Charest is absolutely beautiful and the idea of the story is greatly think. But something in the way the movie is made is missing and it's the fluidity, but a good movie ^^ Stop being a victim!
November 7, 2007
A fun piece of new wave French cinema. It's got the story, the humor, and everything else you expect from the French.
August 15, 2007
c'est pas mauvais.
c'est pas très bon.
ce film ''est''

tout simplement
½ July 28, 2007
An ok flick with a fair share of twists and turns. On par with other mainstream french canadian movies. Don't be fooled though, it's not a comedy nor is it a drama but somewhere in between. C'est pas parce-que c'est pas mauvais que c'est bon.
½ July 1, 2007
bonne petite intrigue, les personnages sont tous excellents et j'ai bien aimé le travail de réalisation et de montage.
June 25, 2007
super bon...c'est toujours un délice de voir Pascale Buissières...le personnage de Robert est bien joué, on s'attache à lui assez vite.
½ June 16, 2007
bon film semblant a la grande seduction peut-etre un peu plus violent
June 15, 2007
Très ordinaire, les acteurs sont bien mais la narration tape sur les nerfs
June 11, 2007
I adore this film. It's got a great sense of witty humour, razor sharp.
June 5, 2007
Best movie I've seen recently. I haven't seen many movies recently though so judge accordingly.
June 5, 2007
thought it was entertaining, funny and had all the necessarily poignant, dramatic moments.
June 4, 2007
cute enjoyable movie
May 31, 2007
Not my kind a movie. But for the right people i'll be great.
Page 1 of 2