Guns at Batasi - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Guns at Batasi Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 29, 2014
Richard Attenborough steals the entire film with a tremendous performance as RSM Lauderdale.
½ May 27, 2014
good but dated political drama
½ December 26, 2010
- Richard Attenborough gives an outstanding performance as Regimental Sgt Major Lauderdale and steals every scene he‚(TM)s in. The movie takes place on a British Army post during a coup d‚(TM)√ (C)tat in a former African colony. Most of the action takes place in the Sergeants Mess with a terrific cast of character actors playing the sergeants and officers, but Attenborough‚(TM)s performance alone is reason enough to watch this movie‚¶
½ March 15, 2010
Dissects with a piercing personal touch the strict disciplinary attitudes that govern a true British soldier and makes him retain his own individual pride in the face of political forces unappreciative of his principles.
½ January 20, 2010
Good plot with a great cast. Well worth watching for those who like this type of movie.
Super Reviewer
November 9, 2008
it got off to a slow start so i was sat there thinking it was gonna be a couple of hours of my life i'd never get back (i'd watched oliver twist earlier) and it slowly built and built into a bloody good film. once i'd watched it all the way through i was enthralled. stellar performance by richard attenborough as major lauderdale. john guillermin hasn't really made a great deal of good films. i guess the towering inferno just about makes it into that category but generally this is his best
½ October 1, 2008
The last remnants of British colonialism in 1960's Africa gets caught up in a political coup. A first rate cast of character actors and a tremendous, intelligent script makes this essential viewing - which makes it all the more surprisingly it is so little known. Richard Attenborough is absolutely brilliant as the Regimental Sergeant Major.
½ September 28, 2008
The end of Colonialism meets the stiff British upper lip. The script is excellent and deals with a microcosm of the ending of an empire, Attenborough is in a stereotypical role, but he plays it strongly.
March 26, 2008
This film does not receive the attention it deserves.

This is not just a post war, "war" film, but a post Suez film. This is really all about Britain not facing up to end of Empire, Attenborough's RSM, showed great courage and military competence, and did stick to his principles- or at least strickt military procedure. In the end though he just couldn't cope with the new political reality. That's exactly where Britain was then, post Suez but pre-Aden. Indeed some would argue that this film still sums up Britain's view of its place in the world.
February 5, 2008
This is THE post-war british 'war' film about the end of the British Empire. Wonderful film. I recomend it to anyone.
Page 1 of 1