Gurotesuku (Grotesque) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gurotesuku (Grotesque) Reviews

Page 1 of 8
½ August 10, 2017
It's not JUST torture porn. But it is torture porn. Violence on the level of I Saw the Devil and the Saw Franchise. And a villain who simply wants to feel something is compelling enough to sustain interest for 73 minutes.
July 4, 2017
This is much more a gory comedy than a horror movie. As the movie descends further into slapstick after the notorious 40th minute, if you're not at least chuckling, you're missing the point. And I personally loved the ending.
September 5, 2016
You can predict a Japanese horror film with a name like this is going to be tough to watch, and some parts are, but not as much as I was expecting. I've seen several movies of this nature before, and this one doesn't really do much that's new, aside from several methods of torture I've never seen on film, and don't care to see again. The cameraman doesn't seem to be able to hold the camera steady, since it wobbles about constantly, even in scenes where there is no call for it. The antagonist has pretty poor motivation, the characterisation is thin, as is the plot, but since the movie made an effort, if only a slight one, to make the individuals more than cardboard cut-outs, it prevented me from hating it. I still wouldn't say I enjoyed it, since its essentially torture porn, but being only 73 minutes and with far less blood and gore than some other similar movies I've witnessed, it could have been much, much worse.
June 18, 2016
We need more movies like this!
October 28, 2015
Movies like these are a dime a dozen this one throws in the element of softcore porn but it's still not very interesting.
August 12, 2015
Great gore movie example, if you love this kind of genre so watch it
July 16, 2015
Makes 'SAW' look like a Disney film!!!! Very extreme film and can see why it was banned in the UK. Lots of cringing moments.

Gets 4 stars purely for the grossness
April 1, 2015
The cover said it made Saw and Hostel look like child's play. Rarely does the hype live up. Absolutely gory, probably the goriest film I have ever seen. The story line was really good too. Towards the end it got kinda silly but it almost had to just to remind you that it's only a movie. Seriously, some of the things they film are so close to real it sometimes gets hard to watch, little detailes like the characters soiling themselves from fear. Little things but with the effect of watching Texas Chain Saw for the first time and seeing that guys legs spasm after he gets knocked over the head with the sledgehammer.
February 23, 2015
A brutally inappropriate film, that's me putting it nicely.
October 18, 2014
Moody, properly nasty Japanese torture porn (that's also a beautiful relationship/love metaphor).
September 8, 2014
I love this movie. Not the typical horror movie.
May 26, 2014
One of the most recent video nasties that was banned by the BBFC. It's nothing more than torture porn. Boring, ugly, disgusting with bare bones character and story to keep things afloat. I suppose censors objected to the graphic and disturbing nipple cutting scene. Or perhaps the testicles being cut off (and worse, cleaned later). Japanese horror has always had a controversial reputation, dating right back to the guinea pig series and the infamous "pink movies". It may be unsettling and disgusting to watch but sadly without any solid story, they are just a string of unpleasant sequences that kinda waste our time.
May 16, 2014
It lacked any taste, and any plot until the last 10 minutes or so.
March 24, 2014
The only purpose of this stupid movie was to compete american "torture porn" stupid franchises such as Hostel, Saw etc.
Boooooring...
February 26, 2014
Strictly for Gore Whores Only!

Genre: Extreme Horror, Torture Porn!

Extremely Graphic Torture, Dismemberment!

NOT for the casual horror enthusiast!

Unrated - Banned in Britain!

What dialogue there is it's pretty lame! Subtitled!

You've been duly WARNED!

Enjoy ;)
December 15, 2013
One of the easier-to-watch gore flicks from Japan (still hardcore, tho'). There's a layer of feelings and hope, helping the story to evolve with somewhat sense. It is, however, a very simple story with focus on graphic violence and a touch of dark humor.
December 11, 2013
not bad, quite over the top
August 31, 2013
I usually love gore, I really love gore, this movie is one of the most insane, nasty, twisted, sexually painful, and always hard to see, gore movie I've ever seen. But I am not saying this in a bad way, well the rape scene was very painful, but at last it is not Caligula or Irreversible, I am saying this in a good way, because, I liked it, it is very original, this is a thing that I am always looking in a movie, creativity, originallity, or at last to make it well.
½ August 16, 2013
This is the sickest and most disturbing film I've ever seen. 70 mins of torture porn. But this film is interesting, cause it's? not just brutal, it's very absurd too. When "the doctor" heals them... that scene blows my mind. And the end is a sick joke... Luckily the classical music and the character of this psychopath make the whole movie a little..."funny" or at least less brutal. Anyway this film shows really well: How sick a human can be. It's scary.
Page 1 of 8