Hamlet 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hamlet 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 30, 2010
High school theater spoof lacks some spark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 7, 2010
Some of it doesn't work at all, but much of it is both sharply astute and hysterically funny
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 8, 2009
I haven't laughed so hard in years. Coogan is pure brilliance...
February 12, 2009
Moments of demented inspiration as the ridiculously catchy ditty 'Rock Me Sexy Jesus' are few and far between.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 23, 2008
That sound you hear is Shakespeare spinning in his grave after watching Hamlet 2 from the Great Beyond.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 25, 2008
Buoyed by Steve Coogan's unapologetically go-for-broke performance...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 12, 2008
Coogan is a master at playing jerks, but Dana is too silly, too stupid, and too unappealing to enlist us on his side.
November 8, 2008
i pio anatreptiki komodia poy ehei ksepidisei ap' to aneksartito kykloma ta teleytaia hronia
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 7, 2008
For anyone who ever took drama in High School, Coogan's character will surely ignite memories of quirky, even downright crazy teachers you may have encountered over the years.
November 7, 2008
The funniest Shakespearean sequel since Richard IV.
September 12, 2008
Oddly, what's supposed to be a great comedy about a bad play is in fact a bad comedy about a play that looks pretty frigging amazing
Full Review | Original Score: D+
September 9, 2008
The play's the thing in Hamlet 2.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 8, 2008
While they may be trying to "save drama," (the $6,000 a year Tucson High School luxury) they are also lovingly destroying it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 5, 2008
Brady and Fleming, who co-wrote the script, build to a feverish finale, 15 minutes of pure transgressive laughter when Hamlet 2 is finally performed.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 5, 2008
I laughed enough while I watched it, but as I write this review, I realize how shabby it really is. And Marschz is annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 4, 2008
Silly, inconsequential fun with enough laughs to make it worth a trip to the megaplex.
September 3, 2008
The lowbrow humor in Hamlet 2 works consistently well, but much more intelligent jokes are launched from the wry lips of Catherine Keener.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 3, 2008
a wildly uneven satire--not nearly as controversial or as funny as you might have expected.
| Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2008
Hamlet 2 has a lot on its mind, not all of it good. You can tell everyone involved here knows what they're doing... it's just that they have too many balls in the air and can't effectively juggle them at once.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 1, 2008
There's something admirable about a comedy that celebrates the provocative nature of art, even if that comedy doesn't quite provoke as much as it could have.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 8