Hamlet 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hamlet 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 8
August 21, 2008
Bounces along quickly and remarkably inoffensively given its deliberately edgy content, and wraps up exactly how you expect it will.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 22, 2008
...in the end the movie is redeemed by a weird integrity.
Full Review | Original Score: 83/100
August 18, 2008
Despite the richness of the premise for comic invention, however, Hamlet 2 remains a rather mediocre experience, offering sporadic laughs but never achieving the level of consistent humor necessary to make this memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 22, 2008
Why so vulgar?
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 25, 2008
A shoddy and indulgent mass of bits from other movies with a shapeless, shameless performance by British comedic actor Steve Coogan as its unfixed center.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 22, 2008
The more self-righteous it gets -- the more pious it is about offending people -- the less it works as a theatrical parody.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 22, 2008
It's not awful, but it has given itself a really tough act to follow.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 20, 2008
It's sacrilege, I know, to suggest that a Sundance hit would have been better as a strictly Hollywood product, but a bigger budget might have helped.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 21, 2008
Might have been brilliantly funny had the film found a way to suitably lay the groundwork for its premise.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 29, 2008
There is nothing wrong with Hamlet 1. It doesn't need further explanation. The Bard locked down all the loose ends and there is just no need for a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 26, 2008
Let's just call Hamlet 2 Waiting for Guffaws, and be done with it. Sadly, said laughter rarely comes, if at all
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 5, 2008
I laughed enough while I watched it, but as I write this review, I realize how shabby it really is. And Marschz is annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 21, 2008
Watching Steve Coogan overact is like being pummeled bloody with a pillowcase packed tightly with frozen oranges.
Full Review | Original Score: D
August 31, 2008
There are several pieces of vulgar language in the film that some viewers might find objectionable. I found them neither objectionable nor particularly funny. In fact, that sums up how I felt about the entire film.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/10
August 28, 2008
Collapses, despite a game and talented cast, and a brilliant concept. Well, concepts don't make movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 22, 2008
I am not fond of listening to characters scream unfunny lines meant to send up the blandness of everyday people.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/4
December 30, 2010
High school theater spoof lacks some spark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2008
If promotional hype of Falstaffian proportions has you convinced that Hamlet 2 is a Shakespearean romp or a musical involving a rocking sexy deity, some elucidation is in order.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 19, 2008
Sure, Steve Coogan has his hilarious moments as a delusional drama coach struggling to save the arts program at a Tucson, Ariz., high school, but that's all there is in the movie: moments.
August 21, 2008
Its sharply funny moments make its lack of consistency all the more evident. The movie ends up feeling like a collection of moments, rather than a coherent quirky comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 8