Hanover Street - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hanover Street Reviews

Page 2 of 4
June 9, 2010
It was a feel good movie, Harrison Ford was funny in some parts. So were some of the people who flew with him. Not the best movie, about infidelity which is never a good thing. Glad it ended well though.
April 13, 2010
One of my favourite Harrison Ford films. Romantic and Harrison just looked so young and gorgeous in uniform!!!!
½ February 9, 2010
Not so realistic. All in the Aircraft dies except for the two main characters.

But Patsy Kensit always steal the show :-)
½ February 9, 2010
Not so realistic. All in the Aircraft dies except for the two main characters.

But Patsy Kensit always steal the show :-)
December 22, 2009
This movie could have been a classic if only it didn't take itself too seriously. It starts off with blue skies and billowing clouds, a sweeping, romantic score (which turns out to be the most annoying thing about the picture) and a written forward which shamelessly begins "It was the best of times. It was the worst of times."

If you can get past that, this is actually a pretty decent picture as far as tragic romances go. My idea of romantic movies leans more toward "The Crow" (I told my Baby if she were ever raped and killed, I would come back to life and take bloody revenge...sometimes I just don't think she gets me).

Harrison Ford plays David Halloran, a WWII pilot stationed in London. He meets and falls instantly in love (a little too instantly, maybe) with a British army nurse played by Lesley-Anne Warren. He knows she's married but the two begin an intense affair.

The more interesting part of the story, for me revolves around how their relationship affects Ford's duties as a bomber pilot. When we first see him in action, he is openly mocking his superiors and flying fearlessly into battle, dropping bombs on the Germans as artillary shells explode all around him. The deeper in love he falls with Warren, however, the more concerned he is about losing his life. He wants to live to be with her. Eventually his nerves fail him and he bails on a mission.

Things take a turn for the worse when Warren's husband, Christopher Plummer, takes an espionage mission that will send him deep into Nazi territory. Plummer is brave and smart, but he is also bland compaired to Ford's character. Still, he loves his wife and she knows it. As fate would have it, Ford is picked to fly him to his destination. When their plane is shot down and they are presumed dead, She feels as if she is being punished for her infidelities.

From here, the story turns into a fairly straitforward WWII movie. Ford decides to help Plummer complete his mission when it becomes evident that Plummer is not as prepared as he believed. There are some close calls and tense moments as Ford resolves to get Plummer back to his wife.

I give this movie an 80% because I'm a big Harrison Ford fan, especially his work in the 80s. Also, the espionage plot and the scenes with Ford and his bomber crew are good. And then there is Christopher Plumber, whose character is complex and believable.

Only 4 out of the 7 critics who reviewed it on here gave it a fresh though, so fair warning. Still, if you're a Harrison Ford fan or you like your romances with a touch of gunplay, check this one out.
½ November 16, 2009
Young and dashing Harrison Ford, lovely (tho' a little stilted) Lesley-Anne Down, and I just always like Christopher Plummer. A sweet WWII romance, with laughably awkward driving/flying 'effects'. (How far we've come!) A little 'canned' sometimes, but some GREAT lines (esp Richard Masur, such a great character actor) you'll quote for a while.
May 20, 2009
Disguising a soap opera as a war movie does not change the fact that you're watching a soap opera..and in this case an overly manipulative one. The action picks up a bit towards the latter half, but the story remains far-fetched and hokey. The dialogue is never as clever nor as meaningful as its author obviously believed it to be and the overly dramatic score blatantly tells you what to feel (the score works much better apart from the film, as the music is actually quite good). The only thing going for it is that the hokum is being propelled by the likes of Harrison Ford and Christopher Plummer and these two actors can make most anything watchable.
½ May 1, 2009
This film had the potential to be brilliant but never really cut it.
March 22, 2009
love this film a special lady did us a copy of it and i really do miss her xxxx
March 19, 2009
An early performance for Harrison Ford.Not of one his best though.
January 25, 2009
ford's most underrated performance EVER
January 22, 2009
Ford is my favorite actor but this just moved too slow for me.
January 3, 2009
I'm currently trekking through all of Harrison Ford's movies. This was pleasantly surprising in that, while no classic, was well-acted and enjoyable. Christopher Plummer and Richard Masur stole the show though.
October 22, 2008
Corny and slow at first, but improves somewhat towards the end. It's a shame that Eddie Kidd's amazing motorbike jump is trimmed down in the finished film so that it doesn't look like much.
August 9, 2008
Good movie..little sappy at times. All the good action is towards the end of the movie. I was waiting for Ford to deliver his "I hate Nazi's!" line..haha.
Worth a watch.
½ May 14, 2008
This used to be my all time favorite romance movie....I need to see it again, since I was an impressionable 13 last time I watched it....most people seem to hate this flick! LOL! Harrison ford as a youngster...yeah!
½ April 30, 2008
This would be a really cool flick if they cut down the opening love stuff by 18 minutes or so. The relationship is just so damn shallow and Lesley-Anne Down comes off as a tramp. I do really like the interaction between Harrison Ford and Christopher Plummer. Melodrama, melodrama, melodrama.
½ April 10, 2008
was a little slow, and I did fall asleep, but probably worth another watch.
March 25, 2008
I found this movie seemed quite rushed.
Page 2 of 4