Hansel and Gretel Get Baked - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hansel and Gretel Get Baked Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 6, 2016
11/6/2016: Pretty bad. Stoner movies should be funny and this was not.
½ October 17, 2016
que carajos le pasó a la cara de Lara Flynn Boyle?
½ November 8, 2015
No thank you. It was Decent but only will watch it once.
July 2, 2015
This was so bad, and it started off hopeful too...
July 1, 2015
Before even starting this film, I knew it would be a bad horror film.. and I was right. Being under the "horror" genre, don't get your hopes up on being scared, cause there's nothing that will make you jump or have nightmares at night.
It's not the worst film I've seen, but there are a lot other films I would recommend to watch rather than wasting your time on this one.
½ May 23, 2015
wtf happened with the Lara Flynn Boyle face?
½ April 19, 2015
The title made it seem interesting. This is time I won't get back.
½ August 22, 2014
"Hansel & Gretel Get Baked" is horror/comedy directed by Duane Journey which stars Lara Flynn Boyle, Michael Welch, Molly C. Quinn, Edward Zo and Bianca Saad. Actually there are a lot of cool lesser known actors in the film that have some cool moments on screen but for me the story focused more with Lara Flynn Boyle's fun and comfortable portrayal of a stoner witch who eats kids to maintain her youthful beauty. The story is as you would guess a modern day retelling of the classic Grimm story. Quite frankly I cannot believe it took this long to make this sort of movie because it just seems that the pot community and the story of Hansel & Gretel where meant for each other especially as seen in this film. Also don't let the comedy part through you off because this isn't one of those funny flicks that relies heavily on the spoof shtick blatant puns. The humor here only comes from the simple and expected funny sh*t that stoner films are known for. Mostly this film stays with a classic 80's homage horror theme complete with gory effects, creepy build-ups and dark chilling overtures.

The story is simple and interesting leading into this sticky, gooey tale of a witch that lures children into her home so that she may eat them. Only this witch is the kind that you would really want to get high with and Lara Flynn Boyle plays the part perfectly. The slight nuances and interactions between her and other characters made it obvious that she enjoyed playing this role. The characters of Hansel and Gretel are also pretty believable on screen. The story manages to be witty and smart with plenty of representations from the classic fairy tale present but in a very fresh concept. I mean seriously it seems as if this story should have been a no brainer years ago. I have to say if anyone dares to see any movie with "Hansel & Gretel" in the title make it this one! It manages to be a fun original spin on the concept without seeming hokey, plus the elements of horror are far more impressing than you may expect. It manages to use a darker wicked humor which brought the funny without the ridiculous. I plan to add this flick to my 4.20 celebration as the final piece on my day of horror to get high with!
July 24, 2014
I was expecting this to be awful... it wasn't
June 15, 2014
Hansel and Gretel Get Baked: Hansel e Gretel fumano 8poca9 marijuana, C'č la strega cattiva meno spaventosa di sempre, un sacco di personaggi imbecilli Qualche gag azzeccata la tira fuori e il film si lascia guardare senza farmi venire l'allergia. E' gią pił di quanto mi aspettassi (2/5)
May 7, 2014
Bad movie - the best parts are of the killings by Agnes (because they're funny), otherwise is just a bad comedy / horror movie based on the fable, with a modern twist and junkies.
½ February 23, 2014
I'm no stranger the genre of stoner "comedies" so trust me when I say don't let this movie fool you, it's no comedy. Dumb characters getting maimed "Saw" style isn't funny on a cerebral or gut level and resorting to stereotypes isn't going to save your film. Less "Smiley Face" more 'Grindhouse'.
½ February 16, 2014
As far as low budget stoner films with a cast of relative unknowns and based on a fairy tale go, this one is pretty good.
½ January 19, 2014
Far better than it has any right to be. No classic, but it sufficiently explores the issues at hand.
January 18, 2014
An utterly stupid but thoroughly enjoyable and original horror comedy, Hansel and Gretel Get Baked is a stoner comedy with torture, gore, and supernatural events thrown into the mix. Lara Flynn Boyle's age-shifting performance as the witch makes the film, which will likely only appeal to those who can stomach both b-level horror films and stoner comedies.
January 15, 2014
Urgh! Why? Why? Why?
January 5, 2014
One line summary: Modern stoner comedy with a horror slant and oblique references to the fairly tale.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

The film is set in contemporary Southern California. The film opens with a seemingly endless montage of visuals of medical marijuana prescriptions. Eventually, we shift to a meter man reading usage at a house consuming a huge amount of wattage. He decides to investigate a bit more before calling it in. This turns out to be a mistake.

Hansel and Gretel are brother and sister in an upper middle class house. Their parents are away for a while at the beginning of the film. Gretel and her friend Ashton are in her bedroom sharing a sample of weed ('Black Forest') while they listen to music. Hansel comes home and is not amused. He goes up to chat with them, and they decide to make gingerbread after Hansel describes Black Forest Cake. Ashton goes to get some more Black Forest from the little lady who lives in Pasadena (where else...). Agnes is willing to sell him the weed and to get him some munchies, as long as he does not touch her gingerbread house.

Ashton does eat some of it, and is knocked out by it. He awakes to find Agnes basting him. She starts eating him while he is still alive: first an eye, then roasted lower leg. Gretel makes a lot of calls since she expects him back. Next day, she starts asking his stoner associates where he might be. She gets Agnes' address from Manny, then convinces Hansel to drive her there. Agnes manages to fend off her inquiries.

The police call the power company to ask about a missing van about to be towed. The company acknowledges this, and the van is towed. Hansel and Gretel call the police, but the interview does not go well since they are unwilling to provide specifics about Manny, or Gretel's own drug use. Officer Hart takes Agnes' address anyway. Gretel is disappointed; Hansel is resigned.

Agnes seems to be more of a succubus than a cannibal. Sucking Ashton's spirit out of his body seems to do more for her than eating his flesh.

Carlos decides to horn in on Manny's action with the Black Forest High. Manny goes to Agnes and tells her about Carlos' demands. Agnes is unimpressed. She sends Carlos an insulting message, then kills Manny. Gretel posts signs about Ashton. Carlos, Jorge, and Octavio visit Agnes. This proved to be a bad idea for them.

The power company continues investigating the power spike. Sam's son (one of the stoners who gave up Manny to Carlos) divulges the location of the new weed, and Sam reports it to her boss. He personally continues the investigation from the power usage angle.

Gretel and Bianca decide to look for Ashton and Manny at Agnes' house. While Bianca talks to Agnes, Gretel breaks into the basement, and searches. She finds a piece of shirt that she recognizes. Soon she finds Octavio, or at least his voice. Agnes prevails again.

Hansel heads to Agnes' house once he sees Gretel's text. The police get a missing person's report on Ashton. The power company is zeroing in.

Will Agnes maintain her household against all these challenges?

-------Scores-------

Cinematography: 7/10 Mostly excellent, but many of the interior shots were not so good.

Sound: 10/10 No problems.

Acting: 6/10 Molly Quinn, Lara Flynn Boyle, Reynaldo Gallegos, and Yancy Butler were all fine. Bianca Saad was rather fun. Michael Welch, Lochlyn Munro, and Eddie Martin were almost OK. Andrew James Allen and Claudia Choi were terrible.

Screenplay: 6/10 This one had a few continuity errors involving time of day. Some of the plot motivators were really weak. Also, just what did the power company contribute to the whole matter? The opening seemed like the film was to be a full-on stoner film with no other considerations, which turned out to be false.
½ January 2, 2014
Not a concept executed very convincingly, but sarcastically amusing. A bit "half-baked," but there are poignant scenes in the movie that bring a good high. The gore is a little bit over-the-top, but does serve to swing your emotions one way and the other to complete the movie.
December 20, 2013
About what I expected....
½ November 13, 2013
the film isn't all that good. but lara flynn boyle is hilarious as the witch
Page 1 of 3