Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters Reviews

Page 1 of 7
April 12, 2016
A cinematic Rube Goldberg machine, stocked with attention-grabbing but incongruous moving parts, working in concert to achieve nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 17, 2016
Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters ends with the suggestion that there is more to come. That seems overly optimistic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 14, 2013
The only audience I can think of who might enjoy this movie would be 12- or 13-year-old boys, whose parents may be wary of letting them watch it because of the numerous instances of haphazardly inserted curse words.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 11, 2013
I laughed quite often, at its brazen and unapologetic stupidity more than its intentional stabs at comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 25, 2013
Despite aiming for a deeper character story, Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters only succeeds as mindless and bloody entertainment - thin as its fairy tale source material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 28, 2013
Maybe it wouldn't seem so bad if the plot made a lick of sense...but it doesn't!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 1, 2013
Just another entry in Bland Fairy Tale Theater, a shapeless riff on those hapless German siblings with the worst parents ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.8/10
January 28, 2013
The effects and make-up stand out, and some of the action sequences packed a punch, but the film was just too dull and predictable to help it rise above the January heap.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 28, 2013
Some promise was there, but "Hansel and Gretel" is ultimately just another January bore that we'll forget by March.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 30, 2013
Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters has the hypnotic allure of a candy-coated house but in reality, it's a diabetic coma.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 1, 2013
There's no reason in the world for Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters not to be good, clean, trashy fun. But it isn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 25, 2013
Tommy Wirkola's film suggests A Knight's Tale as penned by Seth MacFarlane.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
October 18, 2013
a disposable fairy tale ride
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 3, 2013
What will Terra Firma's new overlords think of us if, by some freak set of circumstances, Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters is all that remains of our once proud hominid civilisation?
January 25, 2013
I remember clearly what it was like to be a 12-year-old boy and know that if they had let me make a movie at that age it would look an awful lot like 'Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters.'
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 25, 2013
At best it's an intermittent assault on the senses but even that's not nearly as fun as it sounds.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 12, 2013
Wirkola aims for camp but overshoots, causing things to feel less like Sam Raimi and more like Uwe Boll.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 25, 2013
Playing his film with a constant wink and nod Wirkola spends Hansel & Gretel's running time balanced on a knife's edge and juggling flaming chainsaws while doing it. He never falls although he does frequently stumble quite badly.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 4, 2013
Eighty-eight minutes of trash.
February 3, 2013
A half-heartedly conceived, boringly executed, and instantly forgettable feathered-fish for absolutely no one... just bad enough to incite an existential, soul-searching journey wherein we wonder if we are even capable of experiencing joy
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7