Happy Death Day Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 22, 2019
[Happy Death Day] has a very indolent and superficial perception of what it's like to be a young woman at college. [February 1, 2018]
June 25, 2019
Happy Death Day didn't need to be as smart as the movies it brazenly stole from in order to be entertaining. It did, however, need to be smarter than this.
June 4, 2019
An act of cinematic sadism, a mean-spirited, self-satisfied piece of teeny-bopper schlock that attempts to clothe its snickering immaturity in a half-baked moral.
November 11, 2018
With a PG-13 rating, Happy Death Day... misses out on any semblance of gleeful violence. There's virtually no gore...and very little violence in general, especially for a movie about a girl repeatedly stabbed, shot, beat, and bludgeoned to death.
August 28, 2018
The stalking is competent but not terrifying, and the jokes seldom rise to the level of being funny.
August 24, 2018
Hollywood, please. Don't make this movie over and over again.
August 20, 2018
I don't know about you, but if I was continually murdered and woke up only to start the day over again, that would probably be the first thing on my mind: who the eff killed me!?
May 1, 2018
The film's ploy still resounds, lessening the chances of whatever ambition it has to be anything more than a novelty act.
March 13, 2018
The scariest and most mysterious thing about it is that midway through we find out the film takes place in Louisiana. That's what you call a random reveal.
February 7, 2018
Knowing "Happy Death Day" is a "Groundhog Day" retread before seeing it is a positive. You might even enjoy this slasher film more than I did. I found it to be annoyingly unoriginal and tedious. Where's Bill Murray when you need him?
December 6, 2017
It's disappointing that Happy Death Day is unable to come up with a successful blueprint for a spin on Groundhog Day, as placing that concept inside of a horror film isn't necessarily a bad idea
November 13, 2017
Whoever looks for something more than mere ingenuity will have to look elsewhere. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 13, 2017
The protagonist doesn't know how to get out of her loop because the creators don't either. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 1, 2017
Rothe is the closest thing to a saving grace here; she has presence and wit and looks. If she can manage to drag herself clear of having to do junk like this, she may even have a future.
October 24, 2017
While Happy Death Day starts well enough and is very proud of its sense of humour, it's too lazy to bother its arse when the time comes to justify its premise.
October 23, 2017
There's better horror out there. There's better horror-comedy out there, too. What it all really comes down to, though, is if there's going to be another Groundhog Day film attempt, there has to be a better justification for it.
October 20, 2017
Happy Death Day is stupid, but not in the fun way.
October 20, 2017
The whole thing is basically Gossip Girl as seen through the lens of Nietzsche's theory of eternal recurrence, only not as fun as that sounds.
October 19, 2017
[Happy Death Day] is an unrewarding slog.
October 19, 2017
If only this movie were as smart as its inspiration.
Page 1 of 3