The Hard Word - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hard Word Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 6, 2003
Every heist movie trope is trotted out and given an Australian accent.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 28, 2003
This movie could obviously go on fooling us forever, but we are good sports only up to a point, and then our attention drifts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 24, 2003
When it's finally time to lay down the cards, we discover Roberts was simply trying to get by on his wit and charm, and he didn't have enough of either.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 16, 2003
[T]here's a real art to moving characters around in a caper film like this and in this film, I felt like I could see the hand of the director moving those pieces about ...
June 7, 2003
Writer/director Scott Roberts builds his off-kilter caper with spare parts from every crime film made by the Tarantinos and Guy Richies of the world.
August 9, 2003
The film seems unsure what it wants to be about, only that it wants to be edgy while it's doing it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 27, 2003
A wannabe gritty Australian crime drama.
June 20, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
June 30, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 3, 2003
The Hard Word is not a complete failure, just a familiarized one that's not going to woo away any fans of the directors who know how to do it right. And hundreds of times before.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 27, 2003
There isn't much about the movie that "a more good-natured, Australian-flavored LOCK, STOCK & 2 SMOKING BARRELS" doesn't sum up.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 1, 2009
Undemanding derivative caper film.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 12, 2003
It takes a clumsy turn into comic-book violence a la Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 13, 2003
The gore is intended as Tarantino-style black comedy, but instead, it's just weirdly grotesque.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 20, 2003
Few opportunities are seized.
June 28, 2003
The Hard Word strains to be light on its feet but piles too much on its plate: characters come and go, changing personality at the director's whim, and you're never quite sure who's getting the shaft.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 28, 2003
The Hard Word never steals our hearts, though it does kill time.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 28, 2003
The film has an appeal for lovers of the genre. Little else in this unpredictable thriller by first-time director Scott Roberts requires immediate attention.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 1, 2003
Aside from the obviously Australian flavor to everything -- which can be entertaining at times -- there's no X factor to justify the whole exercise.
July 3, 2003
It's fun as far as it goes, but that isn't very far.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5