Harriet Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 13, 2019
Lemmons' melodramatic flourishes can be overdone... But Harriet's story is so important, it rises in triumph over all obstacles -- like the woman herself.
November 11, 2019
There's something undeniably rousing about the way Lemmons directs this, as if she's directing a superhero film with Tubman as the hero.
November 11, 2019
'Harriet' is a portrait of a Black woman that so relatable and so real that only a Black woman could've told this story. Kasi Lemmons did that and more.
November 8, 2019
This movie is a powerful portrait of a remarkable woman. It also highlights the dangers faced by slaves trying to escape to freedom. It provides an inspirational representation of Harriet Tubman and the times she lived in.
November 8, 2019
The film is worth seeing simply for the history-making moments as well as Erivo's terrific lead performance. (Full Content Review for Parents - Violence, Profanity, etc. - also Available)
November 7, 2019
The film is dramatized in a way that neither exaggerates nor lessens Harriet's extremely real struggle-no film can tarnish a legacy so profound.
November 7, 2019
Harriet can't quite ascend to the top of the pedestal on which it has placed its subject - and really, how could it?
November 6, 2019
Harriet is breathtaking and truly inspiring. Tears will flow.
November 6, 2019
This is a solid, entertaining film.
November 6, 2019
As true-life abolitionist and conductor on the underground railroad Cynhia Erivo will take your breath away. If the movie is at times formulaic, it is nevertheless a beautiful and emotionally rewarding tribute to the real Tubman.
November 5, 2019
An overdue film about one of history's greatest heroines. Not only do we get to see Erivo's acting skills we also get to hear her wonderful voice. Chances are Tubman's story was more dramatic than shown but it is still an educating and entertaining film.
November 5, 2019
Inspirational biopic, hampered only by its simplified, conventional story-telling.
November 5, 2019
We're very much watching the origin story of a superhero guided by God's hand. When Tubman speaks, every man stops to listen. That's more than power. It's respect.
November 4, 2019
For two hours, we are enveloped in the greatness and valiance of black womanhood -- something we hope to see again soon on the big screen.
November 4, 2019
We come out of HARRIET feeling like we've seen something important that we ought to have seen. But we don't feel like we've lived through it alongside any of its people, and it seems like that should have been part of the experience.
November 4, 2019
Thanks to a powerhouse performance from Erivo and stellar direction from filmmaker Kasi Lemmons, biographical drama Harriet frequently lives up to the weight of expectation.
November 3, 2019
It's well researched, well crafted, well-acted, and ultimately well worth your time. But its overall adherence to tired old biopic conventions ultimately keeps it from being truly great, and that's a damn shame.
November 3, 2019
The pint-sized Erivo captures the pint-sized Tubman's determination and fire. And by focusing on the violence slavery did to families, Lemmons makes us feel its outrages afresh.
November 2, 2019
Perspective is incredibly important to a movie like Harriet and as is, it is a very uplifting and powerful story; however, it runs the risk of being an overly Hollywoodized retelling, and this falls to the audience to know their expectations.
November 2, 2019
A standard biopic that manages to showcase an extraordinary real-life story and a vibrant and moving performance from Cynthia Erivo. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 6