Harry and Max - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Harry and Max Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 3, 2011
Una rara relación entre dos hermanos el morbo lo tiene el que se dice que esta basada en Nick Carter y su hermano Aaron Carter.

En definitiva el amor es el amor.
½ December 30, 2010
Forgetting the taboo subject matter of the film, overall it seemed like it tried to be more daring that it was actually willing to be. Cole Williams provided a strong performance but the script was just not strong enough.
½ December 2, 2009
I feel like this movie was trying too hard to ride on shock value and controversy. Which is a shame because the subject matter does not crop up often, and in cinema, tough subject matter often inspires good directing and writing.

Not so with Harry and Max. With utterly average direction, and dialogue writing so false it's laughable, Harry and Max is a desperate parody of a teen romance/drama trying anxiously to tease some meaning out of what is ultimately a story lacking in any real substance.

The use of writing on the screen to deal with issues such as the move to New York, or the fact that the camping trip moved from tent to back of car rather than incorporating it into dialogue (I mean: "The next morning (It got cold at night)"? Really?) just was a bad decision. Pure and simple.

Not content with not knowing when to use dialogue, the writer also misused it whenever he could. The characters were flat and uninteresting, the supporting characters might as well have not even been there. The treatment of the subject matter was insensitive to gays, insensitive to victims of incest, and more importantly, it was boring.

The film was not simply bad, it was pedestrian. The lead actors did their best with a bad film, but I can't help but wonder what it could have been if instead of tripping over itself trying to decide what it actually felt about incest and pedophilia (I seriously couldn't tell), it just dropped the brothers angle and the yoga instructor subplot altogether and told a story about teen idols, gay romance, and ultimately why liking someone isn't good enough, they have to be good for you too.

If you want a decent LGBT themed film, this is not it. Harry and Max's failures are compounded by tantalising glimpses at what this film could have been in the hands of a talented director and writing team.

All in all, despite casting good-looking, talented leads, nothing could save this utter trainwreck of a film.
½ September 10, 2009
Kudos for trying to really break taboos, but director Christopher Munch does the actors no service by bogging them down in a script made up of convoluted motives. This one leaves you hanging, and doesn't earn its ambiguity.
½ June 28, 2009
Ehh, could've been better. Subject matter was interesting but there wasn't enough done with it. Oh, and the ending sucked.
June 27, 2009
Albeit disturbing subject matter, oh wait...not really that disturbing compared to typical hollywood fanfare of killing, murder and mayhem, this film was kinda calm and quiet in it's own way. Yeah some may feel that it's boring but at times boring can be good. However that doesn't mean lack in acting or even bad script. I would wish there is a more deeper emotional charge between the actors and not just talk talk talk...But I still find Bryce Johnson to be soooooo delish!
½ June 26, 2009
This was a random watch for me, and it ended up being about gay incest (!) However, it's forgettable.... in fact, I can't remember anything about it other than the brothers taking a road trip, and I don't remember any steamy scenes. So... what I can say from it is: This gay-themed road movie is gay. I'm anticipating the upcoming Brazilian film From Beginning to End (Do Começo ao Fim) by Aluisio Abranches. The trailer makes it out to be everything that this movie wasn't.
June 11, 2009
I consider myself an open-minded person but I really couldn't wrap my mind around this incestuous gay movie, or incest for that matter. Anyway, ignoring the subject matter, I think this movie just.... suck!
February 22, 2009
This is not the best movie nor is it the worst. A touchy subject looked at but not explained or judged. Sort of abrupt ending - like they spent their time with the exposition and had to rush to wind it up. See it before you buy it.
October 19, 2008
very wrong but also very sweet..O.o
i love cole williams so i liked it!:)
August 15, 2008
If you can get over the taboo subject matter, Harry and Max provides a uniquely rewarding challenge for filmgoers. Although the film moves somewhat slowly, I think that some of the film's detractors misinterpreted poignancy for tepidness. Harry and Max is an incredibly deep and layered psychoanalytical drama. It gets under your skin and stays there, changing your own perspectives and opinions. Highly recommended, if you think you won't be too offended by the themes on display.
July 29, 2008
Okay, so avoiding the subject matter, it was still a shitty movie. I mean when you're touching on the subject of incest you can kinda figure that there will be a bit of psychoanalysis about the matter, but did it all have to be in the dialogue? Endless psychobabble conversations about what they were doing and why they were doing it. Couldn't most of that analysis have been left up to the watcher? And honestly, who blames their sexual problems on their circumcision anyway? "You think I wouldn't give a million bucks to have my foreskin back" HONESTLY!?!?! Who talks like that!? Subject matter aside, it was just a shit movie about two self destructive guys, one of which finally grows up even though the other one can't.
½ April 21, 2008
It was okay, but would not necessarily recommend it to anyone.
cigaretteburns
Super Reviewer
February 13, 2008
This film was quite different from what I had in mind. There wasn't nearly enough incest to even warrant these two a spot on the Jerry Springer show!

It wasn't a terrible film, just average. At times though, it felt like this script was written by a kid. The use of language is really poor. The plot also took a bunch of detours that made absolutely no sense. Basically, the film is about two brothers who continue reminiscing about the one time they fucked in Bermuda. Rando! And seriously, if you're going to make a film about incest, you may as well go all the way! Those of us who actually rent this film have no problems watching some incestuous relations.
½ January 31, 2008
This was a horrible piece of SHIT and the person who recommended this to me has the worst taste in movies. I watch literally anything put in front of me, but this was no movie. This was just plain porn and the subject matter was pretty offensive too.
January 26, 2008
Not bad. A little cinfusing but finally at towards the end I figured it all out.
½ January 19, 2008
The movie didn't quite live up to some of the hype I had read about it but I'm glad I watched it. It was dissapointing that the writer/director chose to "tell" about the tension rather than "show" it and allow it to speak for itself. Far too much explaining was going on for me. And - "moral" considerations aside - as a writer myself, I could almost feel the characters screaming for a more honest ending - argh! . That said, Cole Williams's acting was beautiful!
December 30, 2007
There's an interesting idea in here, but it's frustratingly handled and not entirely convincing. I spent half the film trying to work out exactly what it was trying to say, and the other half wondering why it hadn't done a better job of saying it.
Page 1 of 2