Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Kirk Baird
Toledo Blade
November 22, 2013
The movie can never shake the feeling that it's one big set-up, a meek prelude to the thrill ride to come in Deathly Hallows.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
July 16, 2009
Potions play a pivotal part in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and I wish I'd been able to find one for patience.
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 25, 2009
The most disappointing of the bunch, if only because it opens so promisingly
Clay Cane
BET.com
July 15, 2009
An uninformed audience is left with a movie that feels like 90210 meets Mr. Wizard. I'd rather watch David Copperfield make the Statue of Liberty disappear for 153 minutes than endure this flick's trite magic tricks.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Dave Golder
SFX Magazine
July 8, 2009
Why David Yates decided to move the series so far away from its fantasy adventure heartland is puzzling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
July 15, 2009
Boasts a terrific ensemble cast, occasional thrills and spectacular visuals, but it suffers from a less-than-spectacular plot that's often contrived, uneven in tone and anticlimactic.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.70/10
Robbie Collin
News of the World
July 17, 2009
To say that HP6 is light on incident is like saying that the new Transformers film occasionally gets a wee bit noisy. Understatement of the frickin' Quidditch season.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chris Barsanti
PopMatters
July 15, 2009
At what point did the Harry Potter film franchise become a race against repetition?
Victoria Alexander
FilmsInReview.com
July 15, 2009
Should kill the franchise. Too many foolish, ancient wizards and HP, Hermoine and Ron are shallow extras. A crushing, muddy bore.
Full Review
Bob Grimm
Tucson Weekly
July 22, 2009
I fought to like it...a battle that I lost.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
July 16, 2009
For non-readers, the films are now borderline incomprehensible, because so much prior knowledge is assumed, but I understand from loyal book readers that, especially in this new film, a great deal of important incident has been deleted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
July 16, 2009
The film is simply a bore, a frustrating, yawn-inducing, 2 1/2-hour teaser with no pay-off.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
July 17, 2009
To me, director David Yates in his second outing with the franchise has let style (and maybe some of the technical problems of directing in a hybrid of 35mm and IMAX 3D) swamp storytelling.
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
July 14, 2009
The lag time between the final books and the movies has drained much of the urgency from this screen adaptation, which, far more than any of the previous films, feels like an afterthought.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
July 16, 2009
A boy behind me at the screening I attended put it succinctly: 'That was the most boringest movie I ever saw!'
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
July 28, 2009
This sixth installment is likeably unremarkable and feels like some sort of Diagon Alley deja-vu; a road, an overly long road, we've been down many times.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
July 17, 2009
Dear me, what a dull fight this has become. At points in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince I feared slipping into a persistent vegetative state.
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
July 17, 2009
This film is a bit like a summer cold: you just have to sit there while it runs its course.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
July 16, 2009
If the series is supposed to mature and be about becoming an adult, [screenwriter] Kloves would be smart to start treating the viewer like one.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
September 20, 2009
Radcliffe, Grint and Watson are great as always, but director David Yates' adherence to realism stifles J.K. Rowling's trickster-storytelling wiles. Yates' horrifically bad botching of big-ticket moments bodes poorly for the "Deathly Hallows" films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 14