Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Reviews

Page 2 of 13
Kevin A. Ranson
January 10, 2008
Only true fans of the books will notice many of these shortcomings, but I must hope that this was a fluke or misstep, not a sign of things to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
November 27, 2007
...not much of a stand-alone picture but, rather, a transition from one major story strand to the next.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Prairie Miller
November 25, 2007
Possibly more Dirty Harry than the usual beloved kid bestseller bespectacled wonder wizard, as a dark side kicks in and Harry's soul is on the line.
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
October 31, 2007
Exciting fifth movie finds Harry angry, brooding.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
October 22, 2007
With a script heavy on exposition almost completely devoid of sustained action sequences, Harry's latest is long on spiel and short on spells.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
October 14, 2007
O kinimatografika agnostos David Yates, deyteros Bretanos skinothetis tis seiras kai me kainoyrio senariografo, bgainei san o pio diabasmenos sta biblia tis Rowling, katafernontas na ksehorisei me akribeia ta nimata ap' ta selidotoybla tis pubobias syggra
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Roger Tennis
September 13, 2007
Casting a cinematic spell, "Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix" rises to the top of this season's fantasy entertainment.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 12, 2007
The good outweighs the bad by a wide margin, but just not quite enough to make this the best Harry Potter movie ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
September 1, 2007
Definitely a much darker story than the first four, it is also richer and more compelling. (It's also the first one I really liked.)
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
August 22, 2007
Hogwarts instructors behave suspiciously (as usual). Kids spy on secret meetings ... break rules for the greater good (as usual). It all leads to a wizard showdown (as usual).
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 16, 2007
Grossly misfired where its predecessors had so (seemingly) effortlessly gone before. I was taking the high quality of the Potter movies for granted, like a Pixar or an Aardman movie. Bring back Steve Kloves! Crucio!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Cynthia Fuchs
August 16, 2007
Order of the Phoenix, for all its shortcomings, does make clear the sense of loss and struggle that comes with maturity.
Neil Cohen
Echo Magazine
August 9, 2007
Unlike the Star Trek films, the Harry Potter films excel in their odd-numbered outings. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is lighter and quicker than "Goblet of Fire" and ten times more enjoyable.
| Original Score: 4/5
Jay Antani
Cinema Writer
August 9, 2007
an exercise in patience and loyalty to have to sit through, at least for fans of the past two films
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Mark R. Leeper
August 8, 2007
Every single Potter film is magical. Now they also seem to be getting more intelligent also.
Full Review| Original Score: 7/10
Mark Sells
Oregon Herald
August 6, 2007
A constant, highly engaging entry in the Harry Potter saga.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
August 5, 2007
Brought me straight back to one of the most enduring of childhood feelings: boredom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
August 2, 2007
"Look at me!," Harry screams in anger early in the film. A command I highly recommend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jim Judy
Screen It!
July 31, 2007
Decent...but it simply lacks the spark, novelty and, dare I say, magic that made the earlier pics enjoyable and entertaining
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
July 30, 2007
This chapter was designed to peak our interest in what unfolds in the next installment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 2 of 13