Hatari! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hatari! Reviews

Page 2 of 16
July 23, 2012
This is a terrible John Wayne film. It has a stupid love story, Way too Long at 2 1/2 hours and almost Zero Plot. It was probably neat to see the African Landscape in1962. I love John Wayne films, but not this piece of elephant dung!
July 19, 2012
LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is so awesome and interesting to watch!
July 11, 2012
I can watch over and over again!!!!!
½ July 5, 2012
HATARI! is a much warmer film than it is funny, in fact, as a comedy, its gags are quite feeble. Set in a dramatic landscape in Africa, there is not a lot of drama, and everybody, even the animals, are mild and cooperative. It's astonishing how the film managed to have no blood or killing at all, and that makes the film a fable like experience - boy falls in love with girl, surrounded by friendly and welcoming animals. This, and the fact that there is no villain or villainy at all throughout the film, and the fact that everybody loves one another, and that "love" is strictly retrained the pure and simple platonic sense, all contributed to its likeableness. About the only flaw of the film is its pace and its gags, which as I said, are not comic geniuses. But HATARI! is truly a great film from the master Howard Hawks.
July 2, 2012
Not much story, but the animals more than make up for it (especially the baby elephants!)
Super Reviewer
June 30, 2012
This is a tough one. All concerns for animal safety and cruelty aside, I enjoyed this colourful adventure film for its fine and hearty performances, tangible off-screen
June 24, 2012
One of the best adventure movies ever.
Do yourself a favor and watch it.
You won't be sorry.
½ May 13, 2012
John Wayne in all his glory
April 21, 2012
love this one. it's good and funny too..
April 15, 2012
love this one. even my son said it "wasn't bad for an old movie"! (kids!!!!)
½ March 19, 2012
Wow....the shots in this are amazing......this is made in 1962!!!.....Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey pops up in 1968...and John Frankenheimer's Grand Prix pops up in 1966....I mention those two because I was reminded of both a lot whilst watching it... because of the realism....it was quite simply jaw dropping.

Another huge surprise was throughout the film i kept being surprised at how much it reminded me of some of the sequences in Jurassic Park 2....very interesting.

The movie is never ever dull...and very funny / surprising.
March 9, 2012
Howard Hawks' last masterpiece.
½ February 5, 2012
this is my favorite johne wayne movie i love the baby elephants
December 10, 2011
Simple Sunday afternoon entertainment. Not your usual John Wayne here, but you get some variant of his old self.
½ November 2, 2011
Great safari footage mixed in with a decent storyline. It was more about showing off the location (I mean this in a good way) than about what was happening. Enjoyable, but a bit too long.
Super Reviewer
½ October 17, 2011
Howard Hawk's classic safari adventure may be set in Africa and have plenty of huge scenes of men in cars chasing down animals. If you take that away, it is basically a romantic comedy, though. It is highly amusing to see what men turn into when a new female enters their territory and the little fights that causes. The lovable characters and light-hearted mood of the film make for a very entertaining experience. While the action sequence of the animal hunts do get a bit repetitive, they are still impressively filmed, look and feel real without a lot of special effect that'd probably be used today. The film easily could have been 15 minutes shorter, but it's still a lovable and charming experience to spend two hours with that crew of characters.
½ August 29, 2011
With old-style values (too much old, even shocking in modern culture, but Ok, you can forget about them taking the time when the movie was donde under consdieration), it is a group-of-guys story, with some women to maintain the romantic interest. A little dull in a good proportion of the movie, but with funny isolated scenes in the middle played by curious characters and (more interesting than them) nice animals. Nice end.
July 19, 2011
John Wayne vs nature and John Wayne wins... has some fun characters and some decent action, but it's way too long and the whole film revolves around them hunting animals for a living... but it does have the piece of music elephant walk...
½ May 25, 2011
Pretty much a fun entertainer, all the way, nice movie to watch with your kids and the family. The animal chase scenes are really good, especially the Rhino Hunt one. The romance however is a bit jarring, i mean 60+ Wayne romancing a much younger Elsa Martinelli.
May 18, 2011
Le film s'ouvre sur une superbe s√ (C)quence de chasse au rhinoc√ (C)ros un peu particuli√®re puisque ces "chasseurs" tentent tout simplement de le capturer. C'est surtout l'occasion pour Hawks d'affirmer son incroyable maitrise de la mise en sc√®ne. Plusieurs s√ (C)quences sont d'ailleurs d'un tr√®s tr√®s haut niveau en plus d'un montage rythm√ (C), faisant passer les 2h30 assez rapidement en fin de compte. La force de Hawks, c'est aussi de nous montrer un groupe de personnalit√ (C)s totalement diff√ (C)rentes qui ont l'air de se conna√ (R)tre depuis des ann√ (C)es. Toutes leurs actions semblent naturelles. Enfin, il faut avouer que l'humour et le second degr√ (C) sont constamment au rendez-vous, proposant l√† aussi des moments d'anthologie (notamment lorsque la photographe se retrouve pour la premi√®re fois dans le lit de Sean et s'ensuit une kyrielle de situations cocasses). Le seul b√ (C)mol r√ (C)side pour moi dans la volont√ (C) d'avoir fait un tout petit peu trop long en fin de compte et que l'oeuvre alterne en permanence moments d'aventures et moments de drague ou de second degr√ (C), souvent de mani√®re distincte. Ca fonctionne comme, j'en mets plein les yeux, je fais souffler mon public. La formule pourrait √™tre parfaite dans un laps de temps un peu moins long. Mais c'est vraiment rien du tout en comparaison de la tr√®s grande qualit√ (C) de cette oeuvre. On notera aussi que les acteurs semblent avoir pris √ (C)norm√ (C)ment de plaisir √† jouer dans ce film, avec un John Wayne toujours aussi charismatique et d'excellents seconds r√īles, notamment Hardy Kr√ 1/4ger ou Elsa Martinelli.
Page 2 of 16