The Haunted Mansion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Haunted Mansion Reviews

Page 3 of 133
January 5, 2015
On sait très bien que c'est compliqué de faire des films d'horreur familiaux. Il n'empêche que Le Manoir Hanté et les 999 Fantômes en est un exemple totalement loupé, n'étant jamais surprenant, hilarant ou même divertissant. En effet, devant la telle vacuité d'un scénario écrit par l'auteur de "Elfe" (pas rien, tout de même), difficile pour Rob Minkoff de faire marcher son imagerie visuelle plutôt réussie et à l'épreuve de la décennie d'ancienneté du film, tant elle est au service de... rien. Eddie Murphy et Terence Stamp passent au travers d'un film qui ne les méritait pas, tandis que les autres font au mieux. Même Mark Mancina loupe son score... Un ratage complet.
Super Reviewer
January 1, 2015
Not one of Eddie Murphys best movies but not one of his worse either so its definitely worth seeing atleast one time. I like fantasy / ghost movies so i did find some value in this flick but there are way better flicks out there. Its a movie for the whole family i would say , comedy fantasy style based from a disney novel. Decent story along with a fair acting. An average movie overall..
Super Reviewer
½ January 1, 2015
Terrible. The horror tricks used can hardly scare someone in this age (might have worked in the 1960s, I guess). The comedy track doesn't work either. Actual rating: -2/5.
December 9, 2014
Funny at times but really stupid at times. Entertaining. Even though it can be dark at times for disney, it's not scary.
November 30, 2014
Whilst most critics seem to hate it, I actually dont mind it too much. All a bit of family fun and Murphy and Stamp carry off their roles quite well.
November 15, 2014
Fun family movie to watch based on the Disney World ride in Florida, not academy Award stuff, but, still entertaining
October 28, 2014
Well acted movie, with an original story but predictable plot, no funny and no scary scenes
½ October 27, 2014
Eddie Murphy and his wife are real estate agents who receive a call to put a dilapidated old mansion on the market. Soon, they realize they are trapped in the house along with their kids by a series of ghosts. There is a mystery afoot, so they work as a team to figure why they're being held captive. Jenifer Tilly was used in role not suited for her, but it was nice to see a Don Knotts cameo. Silly, with well-done visuals, and few scares make this a decent one for the kiddos.
October 20, 2014
Nicely done. Funny.

A house salesman gets called to sell a haunted house. Taken from the Haunted Mansion ride at Disney's. Delightful tale with a happy ending.
October 20, 2014
Well acted movie, with an original story but predictable plot, no funny and no scary scenes.
½ October 13, 2014
Take everything you like about the classic 1963 Haunting and ruin it by making it silly for kids; that is what this movie does. It is unoriginal and completely uninspired. In theory, the story originates from a Disney theme park ride. While that tactic somehow worked for Pirates of the Caribbean, it does not work here. It is going for ghost humor, but it is not funny. It flexes poor acting from the kid roles and is completely corny in a bad way. It does serve as a low-level entertainment that kids seem to enjoy, but the more you think about the worse it is. Short of the big paycheck, it is hard to understand why Eddie Murphy took this job. His career is heading in a dreadful direction with bad kids movies like this. He is still talented and if Robin Williams can recover from Flubber than Eddie Murphy can rise again.
October 10, 2014
It's bad but enjoyable for a viewing around Halloween
½ September 24, 2014
I watched it separately with my two kiddos and they really liked it. There were a few funny parts and it was family friendly. No cussing either.
September 5, 2014
Right off the bat, you should see the poster for this and be completely uninterested. With a premise and effects as old as the actual ride, Eddie Murphy slips up for the millionth time.
Murphy and his entire family specialize in a real estate agency, and they visit a mansion that DEFINITELY doesn't look suspicious. Basically, Murphy wimps out when meeting the not-so scary inhabitants of the mansion and Scooby Doo-like hijinks please nobody. Murphy also tries to pull off this careless like father performance who cares more about his business than his family, which based on his film decisions, sounds accurate in reality. Not of much a story here, basically Murphy running and screaming and the suspicious owner of the mansion, Master Gracey, hitting on Murphy's wife, who he believes is a ghost of a girl he loved 300 years before. Whoops.
With an awful story, awful effects, and annoying to the bone characters, the Haunted Mansion is one of the worst, if not THE worst, Murphy film to date. Nothing is chilling, obviously since it's a Disney film, except characters like Jennifer Tilly's simply amazing performance as a magic ball, singing statues, and many others you'll hate. This was a BIG mistake, if you want anything better, ride the actual attraction - it'll save you an hour and a half you'll regret.
September 2, 2014
Great movie for halloween but after halloween terrible period. Love the glass ball.
½ August 28, 2014
14 minutes m'ont suffi.
August 8, 2014
A storm has flooded the road. There will be no leaving the mansion tonight.

Jim Evers is a workaholic realtor who has a wife as a business partner, Sarah. He is challenged to sell a house that would land him and his family quite a booty. He takes his entire family, Sarah plus his two kids, to the mansion to check it out. Of course he gets stuck there and later discovers it is haunted. He will need to improve his family dynamic so they can work together and survive this disaster.

"You gotta whack the spider!!!"

Rob Minkoff, director of The Lion King, Stuart Little 1 & 2, The Forbidden Kingdom, Fly Paper, Peabody & Sherman, and the upcoming Chinese Odyssey, delivers The Haunted Mansion. The storyline for this picture is pretty flimsy and predictable and reminded me of a Daddy's Daycare (or Are We There Yet?). The acting is as you'd expect for the genre and the cast includes Eddie Murphy, Marsha Thomason, Dina Waters, Terence Stamp, Aree Davis, Jennifer Tilly, Nathaniel Parker, and Deep Roy.

"You said it was a dead language!"
"You see how wrong I was about that?!?!"

My daughter and I caught this tonight on Netflix. I kind of feel like saying this is bad is piling on at this point. It is a pretty straightforward, cheesy, children's picture (and that's coming from someone who enjoyed Smurfs 1 & 2). This didn't keep my daughter's attention at all (5 1/2). Overall, this is a below average children's picture you should skip.

"This is for me!"

Grade: F
July 27, 2014
A rather smart Eddie Murphy children's movie that has enough strategy to even keep adults entertained.
July 27, 2014
Just watched this as a family night film. Disney what are you doing? The children were terrified lol
July 24, 2014
It was a great movie!!!
Page 3 of 133