He Named Me Malala Reviews

Page 2 of 7
February 23, 2016
Guggenheim's portrait of teenage Nobel Peace Prize laureate Malala Yousafzai is remarkable in terms of access to its subject's life.
February 20, 2016
It's as digestible as a book report, but not probing.
January 20, 2016
It ends with a hashtag because it knows its target audience would rather be pandered to with easy-chair pleasantries.
December 30, 2015
The most gratifying takeaway from He Named Me Malala is how ordinary Malala is shown to be, when she isn't lobbying the United Nations and visiting beleaguered countries.
December 30, 2015
It's a shame that Guggenheim's slickly produced documentary examines such an important and fascinating story with such underwhelming results.
December 30, 2015
He Named Me Malala tells an important and engaging story.
December 30, 2015
The film is an incomplete picture of a work in progress, but the teenager's confidence, maturity, wisdom, and talismanic status in the world of global activism are undeniable even in the most uncritical moments.
December 30, 2015
An intimate portrait of the fearless young advocate for women's education, He Named Me Malala is one of the significant films of the year.
December 30, 2015
He Named Me Malala is a deeply touching story of a proud father and daughter, who have drawn strength from each other in times of unimaginable pain and adversity.
November 24, 2015
Oscar-winning director Davis Guggenheim (An Inconvenient Truth) creates a riveting portrait of the youngest ever Nobel Peace Prize winner, Malala Yousafzai.
November 23, 2015
A rousing profile of the teenage Pakistani girl the Taliban tried to kill for her belief in education and equality...one of the unintended pleasures is registering how Malala has become the worst possible nightmare to her failed murderers.
November 23, 2015
The film follows an idealized version of Malala and misses the opportunity of exploring lesser known aspects of her already well know and publicized story. [Full review in Spanish]
November 19, 2015
The director's critic eye is a key aspect of this great documentary. [Full review in Spanish]
November 19, 2015
An interesting and touching story that benefits from a fresh narrative. [Full review in Spanish]
November 17, 2015
Davis turns his documentary a celebration of free thought, knowledge, integrity and the fight for freedom, all of which the world needs so much right now. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 17, 2015
The best thing about the film is its truly heroic Pakistani teenager heroine and the few unrehearsed glimpses we get of her.
November 17, 2015
Where the film glows is its depiction of Malala's relationship with her Dad, Ziauddin, himself an inspiring, influential and brave activist. "He named her Malala" after an important folk heroine, and together, they are something to behold.
November 13, 2015
He Named Me Malala will certainly make you think while making you smile, and that's something any film can aspire to.
November 13, 2015
Guggenheim takes a wholly admiring view of Malala and her family, and you wouldn't want it any other way.
November 12, 2015
Without being innovative or particulary revealing, this documentary appeals to be empathic with the audience being very simple in its narrative. [Full review in Spanish]
Page 2 of 7