He Named Me Malala Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 15, 2019
Malala is highly confident, well spoken yet cheeky, and the story is powerful and inspiring.
May 31, 2019
A lengthy but fast-paced mixture of animated sequences, dramatised reconstructions, news and specially shot footage, He Named Me Malala is a well-made, easy to digest documentary-lite.
May 4, 2019
Touching, likeable and often life-affirming, HNMM keenly balances its themes and subject matter, and most importantly fully allows the warmth and grace of its subject shine through.
April 8, 2019
Stirring, respectful and eulogising rather than polemical.
August 23, 2018
What shines through is her calmness and optimism as she continues along the long, slow path back to full recovery.
August 14, 2018
He Named Me Malala is well-made, inspiring, and full of moments that will touch your heart in ways many documentaries of this nature won't.
October 26, 2017
The wonderful thing about He Named Me Malala, a documentary made by the American Davis Guggenheim, is how much it tells us that we didn't know.
September 22, 2017
What's in a name? As He Named Me Malala posits, maybe nothing, until the rose chooses to embody what it means to be a rose.
August 11, 2017
[He Named me Malala] is barely 90 minutes long, but I could have watched more.
October 12, 2016
Hollywood may be taking its sweet time making the Wonder Woman and Captain Marvel movies, but filmgoers don't have to keep waiting on a Superwoman to see an inspirational heroine on the big screen.
July 19, 2016
A beautiful, thought-provoking piece of film-making which demands to be seen.
May 3, 2016
A few too many shots of his subject receiving awards and meeting famous people, however Malala Yousafzai is an extraordinary woman and, no matter how her story is presented, it's most definitely worth hearing.
March 31, 2016
Despite's its perceived shortcoming, He Named Me Malala is still a powerful documentary that offers us a glimpse - but not a look - into the life of one extraordinary young lady.
March 14, 2016
Davis Guggenheim's solid and moving documentary He Named Me Malala gives us the background of a story that shocked the world, but could have been more rigorously made.
March 14, 2016
It has the feel of a handsome classroom study aid, but nonetheless one every child (from nine to 90) could learn from.
March 7, 2016
A gentle and very respectful documentary about Malala Yousafzai... Through her story, director Davis Guggenheim highlights issues of free speech, universal education and how an inspirational teenager can change her world.
February 23, 2016
Guggenheim's portrait of teenage Nobel Peace Prize laureate Malala Yousafzai is remarkable in terms of access to its subject's life.
December 30, 2015
The most gratifying takeaway from He Named Me Malala is how ordinary Malala is shown to be, when she isn't lobbying the United Nations and visiting beleaguered countries.
December 30, 2015
He Named Me Malala tells an important and engaging story.
December 30, 2015
The film is an incomplete picture of a work in progress, but the teenager's confidence, maturity, wisdom, and talismanic status in the world of global activism are undeniable even in the most uncritical moments.
Page 1 of 5