Head of State - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Head of State Reviews

Page 2 of 55
½ April 25, 2013
If you don't like this film, you've got to lighten up. "Head of State" is a funny, quotable film with a strong message at its centre, bolstered by an excellent cast.
½ April 6, 2013
It tries hard, but it tries a bit too hard. However if the whole movie was like the last 20-25 minutes where Mays Gilliam gives his surprisingly well scripted speech, it would've been a lot better.
January 22, 2013
Pretty solid comedy, but it tries a bit too hard. However, the repeated line of "God bless America, and no place else" is pretty damn funny.
½ January 22, 2013
Strangely prophetic, but it's just so badly made that the fact it's overlooked is a GOOD thing. Chris Rock, you could've done so much better.
November 20, 2012
The sloppily shot, crudely edited Head of State fails as satire, for starters, because of its utter disconnect from any kind of reality. The movie opens with a statement that Hillary Clinton, Bob Dole and Al Sharpton are not in the movie. Also not in the movie: laughs. There's only the faintest glimmer of Rock's talent for piercingly funny humor here, a shortcoming for which the comic can only blame himself, given that he also produced and directed the movie. The very confusion that has made him (Rock) so unpredictable and funny onstage makes this on-screen exploration of contemporary racial mythologies curiously tentative and unfocused. The difference between Head of State and a good comedy is like the difference between Chris Rock and a real actor. Satire's funniest when it's true, but Rock exaggerates and mistimes too many jokes. Though the comedy falls short of a debacle -- which is what such egocentric projects tend to be -- it isn't as sharp, fast or funny as Rock's stand-up routines.

VERDICT: "Not So Hot" - [Negative Reaction] These films are truly terrible films. They are not the worst things ever made, but they are definitely awful and should not be seen by anyone. (Films that are rated 1.5 or 2 stars)
½ November 16, 2012
Funny if Chris Rock really ran for president. Can't imagine. Movie was good.
November 2, 2012
Unbelievable. A movie about a black president? I mean come on.
½ November 1, 2012
Not great but pretty funny
½ October 31, 2012
This movie looked funny in the trailers, but wasn't really good at all.
October 15, 2012
Well, if it's starring Chris Rock you can guarantee that it's going to be a big pile of poo
½ September 6, 2012
Head Of State, directed, written by and starring Chris Rock. Well I can just see about this. This is quite bizarre attempt to touch sensitivities of the politics rather satirically. I wanna go home!
September 6, 2012
Some really good satire up in HERE!
½ August 29, 2012
A criminally underrated political satire.
½ August 19, 2012
YO mam's butt's so big, that when she sits down, she's 2 inches taller!!!! YO MAM"S GOT A REALLY BIG ASSSSS!!!!!! hilarious. I love chris rock. Very cliche, but hilarious.
July 15, 2012
Funny, but totally unrealistic.
½ July 11, 2012
This is actually pretty good.
July 3, 2012
I did not laugh once.
½ May 28, 2012
i don't like chris rock movies
May 8, 2012
With Chris Rock as the star and writer-director of the film, along with Bernie Mac as his brother in the movie, Head of State is a film that is both funny and interesting to watch that deals with the government and what goes on during a president's election.
Page 2 of 55