Head of State - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Head of State Reviews

Page 2 of 55
May 27, 2013
It has some funny parts but overall there is not enough meat to make a full movie out of. Chris Rock is very good; I cringe to think what this would have been with anyone else in the lead. His timing and ability to satire the political system with keen remarks and cutting delivery keep this from failing. As a satire the movie works pretty well but I wish they had exaggerated more and dug in deeper in a more while making their points. Chris Rock carries the whole movie on his back and it is a shame that there were not better support characters to bolster this movie and push it to the next level. Bernie Mac's character was unfortunately undeveloped and underutilized as the Vice President candidate. The overly simple plot did not do any favors either. If Rock had more help this could have been really good but there are too many things that do not work and it settles for middle of the road.
½ May 27, 2013
A fun but silly look at the world of politics today. Strangely has some things to say about the current election.
½ April 25, 2013
If you don't like this film, you've got to lighten up. "Head of State" is a funny, quotable film with a strong message at its centre, bolstered by an excellent cast.
½ April 6, 2013
It tries hard, but it tries a bit too hard. However if the whole movie was like the last 20-25 minutes where Mays Gilliam gives his surprisingly well scripted speech, it would've been a lot better.
January 22, 2013
Pretty solid comedy, but it tries a bit too hard. However, the repeated line of "God bless America, and no place else" is pretty damn funny.
½ January 22, 2013
Strangely prophetic, but it's just so badly made that the fact it's overlooked is a GOOD thing. Chris Rock, you could've done so much better.
November 20, 2012
The sloppily shot, crudely edited Head of State fails as satire, for starters, because of its utter disconnect from any kind of reality. The movie opens with a statement that Hillary Clinton, Bob Dole and Al Sharpton are not in the movie. Also not in the movie: laughs. There's only the faintest glimmer of Rock's talent for piercingly funny humor here, a shortcoming for which the comic can only blame himself, given that he also produced and directed the movie. The very confusion that has made him (Rock) so unpredictable and funny onstage makes this on-screen exploration of contemporary racial mythologies curiously tentative and unfocused. The difference between Head of State and a good comedy is like the difference between Chris Rock and a real actor. Satire's funniest when it's true, but Rock exaggerates and mistimes too many jokes. Though the comedy falls short of a debacle -- which is what such egocentric projects tend to be -- it isn't as sharp, fast or funny as Rock's stand-up routines.

VERDICT: "Not So Hot" - [Negative Reaction] These films are truly terrible films. They are not the worst things ever made, but they are definitely awful and should not be seen by anyone. (Films that are rated 1.5 or 2 stars)
½ November 16, 2012
Funny if Chris Rock really ran for president. Can't imagine. Movie was good.
November 2, 2012
Unbelievable. A movie about a black president? I mean come on.
½ November 1, 2012
Not great but pretty funny
½ October 31, 2012
This movie looked funny in the trailers, but wasn't really good at all.
October 15, 2012
Well, if it's starring Chris Rock you can guarantee that it's going to be a big pile of poo
½ September 6, 2012
Head Of State, directed, written by and starring Chris Rock. Well I can just see about this. This is quite bizarre attempt to touch sensitivities of the politics rather satirically. I wanna go home!
September 6, 2012
Some really good satire up in HERE!
½ August 29, 2012
A criminally underrated political satire.
½ August 19, 2012
YO mam's butt's so big, that when she sits down, she's 2 inches taller!!!! YO MAM"S GOT A REALLY BIG ASSSSS!!!!!! hilarious. I love chris rock. Very cliche, but hilarious.
July 15, 2012
Funny, but totally unrealistic.
½ July 11, 2012
This is actually pretty good.
July 3, 2012
I did not laugh once.
Page 2 of 55