Hearts in Atlantis - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hearts in Atlantis Reviews

Page 1 of 7
December 24, 2010
Above average coming of age story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 20, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 27, 2005
Hicks' film is a beautiful trifle, a neat trick of light and sound to coax empathy
Read More | Original Score: B
December 6, 2004
If good cinematographers are 'panning for gold' with their camera lens, Sobocinski has put his pan in the river and come back with a fortune.
Read More | Original Score: B+
May 12, 2003
The film has a lot of nice little touches going for it, and while there are the obligatory moments of heartstring plucking underscored by the stir of violins, it never really overdoes things. The only problem is, it's just been so done already.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 29, 2003
Hopkins continues to turn in one lackluster performance after another.
| Original Score: 3/4
December 17, 2002
This movie invokes a sense of nostalgia and a yearning for those childhood friends who, as we grow older, may be forgotten but will never be replaced.
| Original Score: A-
May 25, 2002
Una cinta tierna y emocionante por momentos...pero no termina por convencer.
| Original Score: 7.5/10
March 17, 2002
The elegiac, reflective mood is treated almost incidentally, letting it earn a reaction naturally
| Original Score: 3.5/4
February 26, 2002
I will not deny that it left me with a very nice feeling throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 9, 2001
Likeable, nostalgic movie that walks a smooth tightrope between a coming-of-age tale and a dark, long-forgotten Twilight Zone episode.
November 27, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 12, 2001
| Original Score: 8/10
October 26, 2001
As I write this review, I find myself growing nostalgic for the film. I want to walk away from my computer and see it again right now. It's just that good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 13, 2001
Director Scott Hicks imbues this fascinating coming-of-age drama with remarkable scenes and an astonishingly rich collection of performances.
October 8, 2001
The acting from Hopkins and young Yelchin is consistently strong.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 8, 2001
Most successful in its construction of the concept of Time.
October 5, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 4, 2001
Audiences with an appreciation or even a tolerance of this genre will find this to be above average.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 4, 2001
[Hopkins delivers] a professional performance as always.
Page 1 of 7