Hell Baby - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hell Baby Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 17, 2013
A slog through improv run amok -- a film that seems allergic toward anything that might be construed as a legitimate throughline, lest that somehow be interpreted as 'selling out,' and not subversive enough.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 15, 2013
Hell Baby offers a welcome alternative to the overwrought seriousness of modern horror movies with its frequently hilarious take on familiar genre tropes.
September 12, 2013
This is just about the one-billionth movie to lampoon the horror genre, but so what? It's hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 12, 2013
Given the talent involved, it's a project that sounds promising (if maybe more than slightly derivative), but it winds up an unfortunate misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.6/10
September 10, 2013
The jaw drops at the drought of laughs in the horror spoof "Hell Baby," especially considering the massive amount of comic talent in front of and behind the cameras.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 6, 2013
I can't say I didn't laugh during Hell Baby. I just didn't laugh as much as I would have liked to, or as much as I expected to.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 6, 2013
Everything about it stinks, from the sophomoric writing to the sleep-inducing performances. But even more frightening is the feeling that the torture being inflicted by the writing-directing team of Robert Ben Garant and Thomas Lennon will never end.
Full Review | Original Score: F
September 6, 2013
Certainly isn't the worst horror comedy of all time (see Transylmania)... But most of it is still pretty bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 6, 2013
Like 98-minutes of 'MADtv.' I mean that in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: B plus
September 6, 2013
It soon becomes apparent that the filmmakers, many of whom worked together on "The State" and "Reno 911!", aren't committed to their film's main conceit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2013
The film's reliance on female nudity for edge seems approximately as ancient as the withered hag who keeps trying to get it on with Corddry.
September 5, 2013
[It] rarely dares to be smart, settling instead for familiar gags that would have the Devil himself yawning.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 5, 2013
A film that's less than half as funny as its predecessor, and a sliver as clever as the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 5, 2013
This offensive, crass pastiche makes "Grown Ups 2" look like a paragon of wit and good taste.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/4
September 5, 2013
Garant and Lennon's attempts at humor are absolutely terrible. It's as though they have no idea what comedy is or how it works. This results in a series of gags that they must think are hilarious, but are actually extremely sad and cringe-worthy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 5, 2013
In the end, the level of delirium is addictive. Getting there, however, is a challenge which may or may not be worth your time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 5, 2013
There are genre satires, and then there are dumb comedies that wish they could qualify for that status.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 5, 2013
It's all very goofy and gleefully performed, but it's difficult to figure out exactly what Garant and Lennon want from Hell Baby.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 5, 2013
Its modest (if occasionally gross-out) stabs at genre parody rarely insult our intelligence and even allow for the kind of retro deadpan silliness Mel Brooks used to underline his louder punch lines.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 5, 2013
Evenly divided, joke-wise, between complete non-starters and uproarious setpieces that overstay their welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 2