Hellboy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hellboy Reviews

Page 1 of 10
April 5, 2004
Writer/director Guillermo del Toro puts too much effort on image and not enough on background.
| Original Score: 2/4
April 1, 2004
Visually attractive, but not much else.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 29, 2004
... I loved about 49 percent of this movie but I hated 51 percent of it so I'm going to give this film thumbs down.
July 7, 2010
Inventive but derivative, well performed yet slightly hokey, visually lush yet over-stylised.
April 2, 2004
Without conveying its uniqueness to a larger audience, it finally becomes an empty spectacle of confusion and lost opportunity.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 1, 2004
A fiery action picture destined to please fans of other comics-turned-adventure flicks such as X-Men. The rest of us will find ourselves left out in the cold.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 31, 2004
Every scene is an orgy of elaborate visual effects but there is so little to tie them together that the reels could be shown in any order...
March 31, 2004
del Toro's focus on the mood and the effects unfortunately causes the characters to suffer
| Original Score: 3/5
April 1, 2004
The promise is in the premise. Next time (and after Hellboy makes millions, there will be a next time), someone just has to make good on it.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
April 1, 2004
Hellboy is as magnificent looking a comic book film as I've ever seen, but an increased sense of boredom detached me about midway through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 1, 2004
The movie feels at odds with itself, embracing the comics' idiosyncratic creations without an idiosyncratic worldview.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 2, 2004
For all the monstrous eviscerations, there's no real heart here.
April 2, 2004
Del Toro has traded the subtlety for special effects that aren't.
April 2, 2004
I enjoyed the first 90 minutes and was ready to give this a recommend, but the last 30 minutes sent the movie straight to hell for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 31, 2004
... a dull, derivative, poorly plotted movie. Hellboy's enemies are interesting at first, but they wear out their welcome quickly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 16, 2004
The trouble with computer graphics in films these days is that a computer doesn't have half the imagination of a human.
| Original Score: 2/4
April 9, 2004
This isn't the first comic-book movie to think it's the Book of Revelations, but I wish to hell it were the last.
June 16, 2004
Parts of Hellboy are enjoyable enough, I guess, but there's way, way too much to potentially enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 1, 2004
Seems to be a blend of X-Men and The Mummy, but even The Mummy has a more coherent mythology.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 16, 2004
Although Perlman's presence provides the heart and soul of Hellboy, the film's fire dies down the moment he disappears from sight
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 10