Hello I Must Be Going - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hello I Must Be Going Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Landon Palmer
Film School Rejects
June 2, 2014
...a sincerely personal take on its subject matter, opting for three-dimensional leads and earned pathos over quirky character traits, cynical humor, or an invasively stylized visual approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Emanuel Levy
December 7, 2012
| Original Score: B
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
November 3, 2012
Lynskey imbues the self-doubting Amy with such lightness that she manages to make neediness appealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
November 1, 2012
A fine and funny film balanced perfectly between heartbreak and uplift, anchored by a rich, superlative turn from Melanie Lynskey.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Calvin Wilson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 18, 2012
"Hello I Must Be Going" is at once an intriguing character study and a refreshingly offbeat romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
October 18, 2012
The movie's sharp-tongued and softhearted, a Sundance kind of film that mostly sidesteps generic Sundanceyness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Emily S. Mendel
October 2, 2012
I'm of two minds about Hello I Must Be Going. It's a slow-paced movie, and at times, too slow ... Yet the fine actors, especially the emotive-faced Melanie Lynskey and the restrained Blythe Danner, elevate the film well beyond its story line.
Todd Jorgenson
September 28, 2012
Sharp writing and solid performances elevate this modest low-budget romance.
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
September 28, 2012
The film is worth seeing for the performances, but the drama is a nonstarter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
September 27, 2012
Sharp enough to point out some compelling issues without pretending that it has all the answers.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
September 21, 2012
Succeeds almost entirely on the strength of Melanie Lynskey's heartfelt and humorous performance in the lead role.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
September 20, 2012
Lynskey lets us see, from deep within Amy's fog, an instinctual desire to please, and a sense of innocent wonderment at how she could possibly have gotten into such a mess.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
September 20, 2012
Much credit goes here to Christopher Abbott, whose persuasive performance bridges the gap. He's like a living embodiment of the cliche, "I love you enough for the both of us."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Annlee Ellingson
Paste Magazine
September 14, 2012
[Lynskey] woefully underrated as an actress, for her work in Hello I Must Be Going is subtle and tender.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.6/10
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
September 13, 2012
A funny, well-written, involving and emotionally honest tale.
Top Critic
September 12, 2012
While there are laughs and plenty of them sprinkled throughout, Hello I Must Be Going is predictably sweet and ends up exactly where you think it might, safe and sound.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Dustin Putman
September 10, 2012
Carries with it a low-key transcendence, flourishing first and foremost through its lost and aching protagonist.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Levin
September 7, 2012
Bolstered by a terrific performance from Melanie Lynskey, who brings dignity and humor to what could have been a downbeat part.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
September 7, 2012
I hope Hello, I Must Be Going will introduce many new viewers to Lynskey's charms, and that at least of a few of them will be casting directors.
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
September 7, 2012
This isn't a new topic for independent films - ten years ago, Jake Gyllenhaal was the busy boy-toy in both "Lovely & Amazing" and "The Good Girl" - but this film handles it with fresh eyes, and a gentle approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3